Writer Envy

Ernest Hemingway:  My opinion is I hate it.

Gil: Well you haven’t even read it yet.

Ernest Hemingway: If it’s bad, I’ll hate it because I hate bad writing, and if it’s good, I’ll be envious and hate all the more. You don’t want the opinion of another writer.

346802 Midnight in Paris Amaray_concepts_D6.indd

This is a quote from Woody Allen’s film “Midnight in Paris”, a fantasy where a young aspiring writer is magically transported every night to Paris of the 1920’s.

There he meets some of the most prolific writers and artists of that day ; Gertrude Stein, Pablo Picasso, Zelda and F.Scott Fitzgerald, Salvador Dali, and the always fascinating Hemingway.

It expresses the theme of a lovely entry from SuzieSpeaks that has been re-blogged recently.

Bloggers Behaving Badly

It’s the first thing that came to mind when I read her thoughtful blog post. Even the great ones must have looked at each other’s brilliance with a bit of caution and polite envy.

Or at least they did in the eyes of screenwriters like Woody Allen.

0838_09a4

Corey Stoll is brilliant in the role of a young, feisty Ernest Hemingway. When Owen Wilson’s character, Gil, asks him to read his work in progress, he hands the task off to Gertrude Stein.

A writer’s dream.

This entry was posted in Art, Inspiration, Movies, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Writer Envy

  1. Love that quote Van! ❤
    Diana xo

  2. I haven’t seen that movie. It sounds fabulous. I read Suzie’s post too and thankfully haven’t come across writer envy. It seems nonsensical when the alternative is to enjoy each other’s talent and success and learn from what everyone is doing right. 😀

  3. Erika Kind says:

    That must be an interesting movie, Van! Sounds intriguing. Hemingway is cool.. haha!

  4. I love that Hemingway quote! 🙂

  5. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    I laughed a bit when I read the first part of your post. It is so….human….to feel that way!

  6. My wife saw this movie and really liked it.

  7. Erica Herd says:

    A favorite movie of mine too.

  8. I once went to a literary party and it felt as if I was in a room full of separate planets.

  9. candidkay says:

    Loved this movie and the actor in the role. I have always marveled at writers groups. The unsaid in those groups must be stifling at times . . .

  10. megdekorne says:

    Hi sweet Van ….a new movie for me to experience , you always inspire and shine bright , thank you lovely friend , love, megxxx

  11. Ha. Loved the movie. I only wish I were good enough to be hated for it! 🙂

  12. markbialczak says:

    Aren’t we all in this together, Van? 🙂

  13. huckleberryfrienduniverse says:

    I love this movie so much! You read and see their work, and you wonder- maybe that is exactly how they were. At least for Hemingway and Dali.

Leave a comment