Cardio

So you have been walking for decades, convinced that you have good cardiovascular health, and then it happens.

A winter storm dumps more than a foot of heavy, wet snow on your space.

It started white and fluffy, turned into sleet, then back into snow, creating what one blogger called a “winter parfait.” Thanks, Joey.

It provided a challenge for any snow blowing equipment.

So you pull up your “moon boots” and head out with the shovel.

Cardio fitness ? Not so much.

Be careful out there.

This entry was posted in Education, Entertainment, Exercise, Family, Home, Nature, News, Photography, Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Cardio

  1. The V Pub says:

    I blew out an auger belt last night and my snow blower died on me. Thank God for trucks and plows. I was able to convince a friend to come over and help me out. I hope that you’re cleared out and warm!

    • I learned a bit about the 2-stage snow blower, Rob, we have neighbors who all pitched in…the hero was the one who showed up with a plow on his truck. All is good. Thanks.

  2. Ron Walker says:

    It always seems that way. Just when we think we’re in shape, along comes a calamity to test us.

  3. I was watching this storm on the news last night, Van. I like big snow storms, but mid-March? A good reminder for everyone to be safe. ❤

  4. It looks pretty treacherous. I think I would be curled up by my fire with a Hot chocolate and a good book. 😊

  5. That’s why they call it “heart attack snow”

  6. J.D. Riso says:

    And to think, people were worried about the unseasonably warm weather just a few weeks ago…be careful, Van.

  7. joey says:

    Walking and shoveling are not the same! — I have to stretch before I shovel! I bout wrecked my shoulder while shoveling a few years ago. Do be careful, don’t do too much, and maybe, just don’t? ❤

  8. Lady G says:

    You be careful too!

  9. markbialczak says:

    Indeed, Van. I know exactly what you mean.

  10. Val Boyko says:

    This snow was SO heavy Van! When it turned to freezing rain we called our landscaper to dig us out when it was all over. Hope you made it out with a healthy heart and back!

    • We made it out with a little muscle stiffness, but still okay. Thanks, Val. You’re so right…this snow was heavy. Without a neighbor’s truck plow, we’d still be behind those mounds on the curb.

  11. Cecilia says:

    Oh, I know this situation so well …

  12. yes be careful out there Van… We had it very warm to day at least 16 here and in some places up to 19 deg C… But cooler weather is on the way. no doubt blowing over the ocean.. 🙂 xxx Love and Hugs xxx

  13. I totally understand the urge to get out and clear snow instead of a walk. Darned thing is, the snow banks grow higher, and each subsequent shovelful requires more work as you are tiring.

    Glad you had the neighbour’s help. I’ve been rescued a few times, and just about wept with relief at the kindness.

  14. I like snow. But the snow I’ve been reading about is dangerous. I hope everyone stays safe and warm.

  15. George says:

    That’s a whole different kind of exercise. Like you I’ve been walking for years, though not as much in the winter, but waking in a foot of snow and clearing a foot of snow and sleet is a very different ballgame. Be safe..:)

  16. Moon Boots, solve all… 🙂

  17. Nurse Kelly says:

    Very nice reminder for your readers, Van. No surprise at how much you care. xo

  18. Take care, Van…be careful when you are outside. Here, in the eastern states of India, we don’t experience snowfall…even the winter is short-lived….for just a couple of months…

  19. Bun Karyudo says:

    Even for someone who is pretty fit, shoveling snow is heavy work. The next day? Ugh! 🙂

  20. AmyRose🌹 says:

    I actually have “spikes” to put on my boots to walk in that sort of stuff. It is dangerous as I know. I’ll take pavement any day to that of sleet and snow. Hope by now you are saying good bye to all that white stuff. Slow but sure here. 🙂 ❤

  21. dgkaye says:

    Hopefully that was the last of winter’s test. ❤

  22. Don’t miss shoveling snow. Don’t it at all.
    We don’t shovel hot weather.

  23. Deb says:

    I’m so lucky, where I live my driveway, sidewalk and porch are done for me…but I spent the last 27 years shoveling many feet of snow so I know exactly what you’re talking about. Which this cold weather would shove off and let the warmth in!

Leave a comment