A blog for the rest of us.

I thought it might be fun to create a blog for those, like myself, who up to about a decade ago, could barely even find the way to turn on a home computer. There was little or no interest on my part, as I watched my very savvy teens and my high-tech husband embrace the internet in all its intricacies full speed. It all changed for me when I broke my foot, in an embarrassing, yet not untypical fall to the pavement on a daily walk. I was forced to stay  home from my work, nursing my 5th metatarsal and dealing with pain meds that would keep me awake at night. Trying to avoid 3 a.m. TV, and make as little noise as possible, I took to the computer keyboard. I began with a sort of autobiographical essay that addressed the use of humor to deal with family tragedy; namely my own family, and my own tragedy. ( I had to pause there and admire my punctuation. We so seldom get to use the semi-colon in a meaningful way.) What evolved from that initial experience was most remarkable. The writer in me, long-silenced, began to emerge from the ashes. The stories of my childhood needed to be told, perhaps to share with family,or maybe just to serve as catharsis for myself. And so it begins.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A blog for the rest of us.

  1. LOL re: semicolon. When i’m new to a blog, especially if I can’t quickly locate an “About” page, I like to read the very first post to get a sense of the journey of the blogger. I much prefer the blogs where the blogger hasn’t closed comments on their older work. To me, blogging is about engagement.

    Welcome to the 21st century! I jumped in quite early, but who can keep up these days? Not me, anyway — I might as well be a luddite. I’ll be back.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

Leave a Reply

