Inspiration

I’ve always been fascinated by words. If you break down the word, inspiration,
you get its true meaning. To be “within the spirit”.

Someone asked me once about writer’s block. I honestly could not relate. I find
my biggest challenge is to find the time to record all the words that are fighting
to get out of my head.

My best time was one I found quite by accident. Literally.

I broke my foot and was “incarcerated” in my home for 3 months a few
years back. For the first time in my life, I was not on a schedule. Imagine that.
On leave from work, kids were old enough to fend for themselves, husband self-
sufficient as ever….so I slept, ate, awoke, functioned in every way exactly when I
wanted. It was Heaven.

That is when I got serious about writing. I would be awakened at 2 or 3 am with
an idea, go to the computer and just let my fingers fly across the keyboard for a
few hours. It was effortless on my part. I was “within spirit” of writing.

There is/was a book in there just waiting to come out. I was just the conduit.
I used to hear professional authors talk about this process. I just never
understood it until then.

It started as a book about humor in the face of pain. How the funniest people
I have ever known have also been the most troubled. Humor as a survival
technique. Before very long, it got deeply personal. It was for me, a catharsis.

No better therapy anywhere. I bared my very soul on those many pages of text.
Resurrected memories I had long suppressed. I discovered things about myself
that I always suspected, but had forgotten.

Life, capital L,  got in the way.

I most likely never needed a muse. The power to create was in me all along. I
just had to get out of my own way and tap into it.

Life handed me a broken foot. I paid attention.

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Memories, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspiration

  1. writerinsoul says:

    This is great. Lot of interesting ideas here. Consider re-blogging? (When people say they don’t know what to write about, I can’t relate either. And I like the line about funny, troubled people — Have I brought up the Twain quote before – about the secret source of humor being not joy but sorrow?)

Leave a Reply

