Seinfeld 101

seinfeld_all So, it had to happen. Seinfeld is being used at a university level to teach mental health issues.  Why not ?

Jerry is certainly a model for Obsessive Compulsive Disorder.  George comes through as Ego-Centric.  Elaine has a series of relationship-forming disabilities. And Kramer, oh, Kramer; while a comedic favorite, exemplifies Schizoid Personality Disorder.

I had a lengthy discussion with my daughter over the holidays about The Big Bang Theory. It seems that while so very popular, the show has stirred the ire of a number of groups that are beginning to protest its content; especially nerds, who have a right to complain.bang

Almost every cliche behavior of the nerd population is represented here. I have known, related to, and loved the nerd population all of my life. They may have something here.

And then there is Sheldon, who exhibits Autism in the form of a savant. He has the best writing, and gets the most laughs, but at what cost to the self esteem of an ever-expanding autism epidemic among our youth.

I still laugh, for sure, at all of the above. I guess we all do, according to the ratings.

Still, it is something to examine.

This entry was posted in Art, Education, Humor, Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Seinfeld 101

  1. mandy says:

    This is so interesting. I admit, I’ve laughed a lot at the characters in Seinfeld. I’ve never seen the Big Bang Theory. I guess I have been comforted by the characters on TV who aren’t so perfect–I don’t have to be so uncomfortable with my own imperfections. But if they take it to a disparagingl level, I understand the protests. I haven’t watched Seinfeld for so long, maybe I should take another look.

  2. Ann Kilter says:

    Almost every comedy worth anything has characters who are a little on the square peg side. Without nerds would Friends, Taxi, Parks & recreation, Chuck, etc., be as good?

    • Great comment. There was even a show called “Square Pegs” a while back. Haven’t heard that term so much lately. and…for sure, the shows would not have been as good without these characters. ☺

Leave a Reply

