Weather Advisory

mamas papasWith 6 inches of snow on the ground, 8 to 14 more by Tuesday, it’s time for a throwback to 1965.

 http://youtu.be/dN3GbF9Bx6E

I’ve always appreciated the change of seasons. However…

Sometime between January and March, I start to wonder what it would be like to live where it is 70 degrees with very little cloud cover, all year long. CA Dreamin

They tell me this is San Diego. I’ve never been there; it’s just a destination fantasy I’ve had for a very long time.

Does the constant sunshine affect their mood ? Are people happier there, in general ? Are they more motivated to go outside ?

What is it like to never need a winter coat, or snow boots, or even a change of wardrobe from month to month ?

And yet….

snow

To never see this ?

California might be better left in dreams.

 

 


This entry was posted in Inspiration, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Weather Advisory

  1. Angie Mc says:

    No snow for me in sunny Arizona. I grew up in the north east and do miss the snow, but not as much as I thought I would. I love the sun and big sky and yes my mood is better here. I lived in California as well and I honestly prefer the desert. Remind me I said that in August 😀

  2. We lived in Utah…and missed green landscapes, which came with humidity. The dry air, altitude and constant sun took a toll on my freckled Irish skin…sunscreen was not popular in the 70’s. I’d like to give it another try someday…but maybe closer to the coast. ☺

  3. I’m living the dream, Van, in San Diego! Yes, the sun does shine a lot and the weather is pretty constant most seasons, except for a dip in temp and rain in our winter months. As for less depression living in sun country? Not really! There can be depression regardless of the weather! I’m originally from the east coast and loved the snow (when I was a kid). Can’t deny the snow is beautiful, especially your snow photo. Christine

  4. The snow is beautiful, at least at first. I’m thinking we’re ready to see it from afar, where we can come visit Winter for a week or two a year. We’ll see what evolves. Congrats on living in San Diego..but you’re so right, Christine…depression does not respect weather boundaries. Van

  5. LaVagabonde says:

    I lived in southern California for many years. I got bored with the constant sunshine to tell you the truth.

    • Agree. It never rained in Utah…I used to pray for even a cloudy day. I find the rain very soothing to the spirit. And..the sudden exposure to intense sunlight showed up as early skin cancer on my face. I was not meant to be tan !

  6. mandy smith says:

    Van, I have dreamed of sunshine in the winter for ever!! Growing up in Montana, there was lots of sun in winter, but 10 feet of snow cancelled out the sun for me. I moved to Oregon from there–gray, rain, ugh, in the winter, so California has remained a constant dream. We blame everything on the rain here–depression, suicide, bad moods. Yet, so true–I’m sure depression knows no boundaries!

Leave a Reply

