Soda Jerk

girl jerk It was the first real job. I had a steady babysitting gig with the owners of a local pharmacy, just walking distance from my home. They lived in an apartment above the store.  When I turned 15, they moved me downstairs, to the soda fountain.

The counter seated 12. There were a few regular lunch customers, but it had a reputation for being a local teen hangout, much to the dismay of the owner.  They came to socialize, not to spend money.Grant's soda It looked very much like this one.

We served the usual fare…fountain drinks, ice cream treats, hot soft pretzels, light sandwiches heated in infrared ovens, canned soups. At the end of the counter was a tobacco station…pipe and chewing tobacco, cigars, cigarettes; no restriction on who could purchase them. cash register

It had a very old, manual cash register that was a challenge at times. Taxes needed to be calculated and posted. Change was counted aloud, the old-fashioned way.  Math skills were important.

The shiny, stainless steel bins were filled with fruit flavorings, ice cream, sundae toppings, nuts, and Coca Cola syrup, which was also dispensed in the pharmacy counter as a health remedy for stomach ailments.fountain

Sadly, the soda fountain did not survive. It was more nostalgic than profitable and was replaced by a greeting card display and gift center sometime in the 1980’s.

The pharmacy was sold, its owner went to work for a CVS store in the center of town. It is now an ethnic grocery store, serving a much-changed neighborhood.

But for a while, in the 1960’s, we were the “most popular” and, at the rate of 85 cents an hour, some of the most underpaid “gals” around.

There was a greater benefit. It set me on a path of regular employment, financed my teen years, got me away from some familial responsibilities, and was a great boost to my budding social life.

Plus, I just liked saying that I was paid to be a jerk.

 

 

This entry was posted in Childhood, Family, Food, Humor, Memories, Work and Career and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Soda Jerk

  1. thanks for the smiles this morning -love the closing line!

  2. LaVagabonde says:

    Not many can people can say that their first job was as a jerk. 😉

  3. That’s a really cool memory – the stuff that defines us 😉

  4. So many of us got our start that way. I worked in a diner at 16 for peanuts. Waiting counters got me through high school and college. It was torn down long ago and a real estate office stands in its place.

  5. lbeth1950 says:

    I would have loved that job. I lived on a farm. All us kids were unpaid labor. “Them that didn’t work, didn’t eat.” I love peeking in at other lives.

    • I love your quote. We had plenty of unpaid chores, and were well fed, but our clothing/entertainment/ spending money was up to us. Paid babysitting jobs started at around 12. It was empowering. ☺

      • lbeth1950 says:

        We all knew we were needed. That’s a great part of growing. I knew my parents couldn’t possibly get everything done. Our work had value. The animals had to be fed, cows milked, hay made. Ther were no gratuitous jobs

      • My grandfather lost his farm in 1932, bank took it back when he couldn’t keep up. My dad was born there, would no doubt have kept it going if he could have. I wonder if I could have handled farm life ? Not so sure, I can’t seem to keep a green plant alive !

Leave a Reply

