Shel Silverstein Revisited

giving treeMost of us know the Shel Silverstein of The Giving Tree or Where The Sidewalk Ends.the voice

He is a poet, author, artist, illustrator and musician. A Renaissance man.

He is always admired, often quoted, and wrote some of the most cherished childhood books ever. listen 2

It was such a  surprise to me that he was also a songwriter; author of some very lighthearted lyrics for a diverse group of artists.

pic guitar

Silverstein, Lyricist

His lyrics include Johnny Cash’s  “A Boy Named Sue” and Dr. Hook’s “Cover of the Rolling Stone”.

I discovered another gem of his during my introduction to live country music. On a dare from a few cowboy co-workers, I attended an Outlaws concert which featured Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings, Emmylou Harris, and an obscure artist named Tompall Glaser.

He sang a biting, satirical and seemingly anti- feminist song penned by Silverstein, called “Put Another Log on the Fire”. 1975

 

“Put another log on the fire
Cook me up some bacon and some beans
And go out to the car and change the tire
Wash my socks and sew my old blue jeans.

Come on baby you can fill my pipe and then go fetch my slippers
And boil me up another pot of tea
Then put another log on the fire babe
And come and tell me why you’re leaving me.”

My new found western friends were pretty sure it would offend my progressive, east coast sensibilities.

It did not.

silly

 http://youtu.be/DBpeK9yaONQ

This entry was posted in Humor, Memories, Music, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Shel Silverstein Revisited

  1. I used to read The Giving Tree to my daughter (years ago). I didn’t know he wrote songs either.

  2. I only found out a few weeks ago while doing research on country music; was surprised about his connection.

  3. Van great post! I’m laughing at the song lyrics that he wrote! I remember his books and this song! Christine

  4. mandy smith says:

    Great stuff!

  5. How interesting… I love learning these bits of information. I remember hearing that song. I wanted to walk out on the guy just hearing it.

  6. Angie Mc says:

    Shel Silverstein fans here. Thanks for making these connections – who knew? 😀

Leave a Reply

