She Never Smiles

This woman has not smiled in 40 years to avoid wrinkles.

“Yes, I am vain and want to remain youthful. My strategy is more natural than Botox, and more effective than any beauty cream or facial. ”

tesschristian_mainThis is Tess Christian, not smiling, at age 20 and 50.

Was it worth it ?

There are multiple photos of her that show important life events, births, weddings, etc, where she remained true to her pledge at age 10.

She claims that as a Catholic school student, she was often told to “wipe the smile off your face”. No doubt.

She trained her facial muscles to keep a straight face.mona lisa

As an adult, her friends refer to her as Mona Lisa. That just seems so wrong. DaVinci painted a very subtle, yet knowing smile on his classic subject.

But what kind of hell it must have been for her, and anyone around her, to have maintained “bitch face” mode for 4 decades ?

A life without smiles, without laughter ?

There have been so many studies about the effect on the brain of a smile, whether spontaneous or forced. It signals that you are happy, even if you are not.

It has saved me on so many occasions.

It used to embarrass me as a child when my mother smiled at strangers; when she had to strike up a conversation with everyone in her path. I get it now. It was healing for her.

I cherish every laugh line I achieved, and the life stories behind them.

Tess Christian’s story has gone viral. Her critics are many. I feel sorry for her.

Was it worth it ?  Absolutely not.

This entry was posted in Art, Childhood, Depression, Entertainment, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to She Never Smiles

  1. LaVagabonde says:

    And to top it all off, it doesn’t seem to have worked.

    • For sure, Julie. Under eye bags, receding hair line, jet black hair dye, lots of concealer (shows up when pic enlarged). She looks her age to me. She’s a poster child for what “not to do”.

  2. Wow. How is that possible? How can you suppress an instinctual response like smiling? She says “vain” but I hear “pain.”

  3. How sad to grow old and have denied herself a smile. To me, sharing joy is a favorite part of life.

  4. megdekorne says:

    I will be grateful for each smile I see today …and smile back ! Blessings of love dear Vanessa

  5. LadyPinkRose says:

    I’ll take the laugh lines any day, thank you!!! How sad this woman never smiled. That concept just does not sink in. (((HUGS))) Amy

  6. C.E.Robinson says:

    Van, mindboggling! What warped thinking! I’m with you, I love every wrinkle & laughline on my “old as dirt” face. Years of happines signs. So sad that Tess missed out to share a smile in her life. Great thoughtful post? Christine

  7. Pingback: Short Thought 109 (expressions) | WriterInSoul

  8. To not smile? To not have your entire face light up in a cheesy grin for the sake of keeping your ‘youth’ a bit longer?

    If you don’t enjoy the simple things in life, what’s the point?

    I love to smile…I love to laugh…I love to bring grins and laughter to those around me. I remember going out for the weekly food shopping, and at the checkout, the man bagging my things told me the most wonderful thing: He said ‘Never lose your laugh.’

    One of the most beautiful things I’ve ever heard.

Leave a Reply

