A Glory. A Legend.

87th Annual Academy Awards - Show

Best Original Song “Glory” from the movie Selma.

Every once in a while, magic happens.

I had not planned to post today. Then late last night, I saw a moment of “Glory”.

There seems to be a light coming from certain artists. For me, this is John Legend, aka John Stephens.

Whether it’s a ballad, or a simple love song, his music, his lyrics and most especially, his performance, all elicit a stirring response in me.

This happened last night for the Oscar audience. Tears flowed freely.

Some say he politicized his acceptance speech. Yes. And thank you.

“We live in the most incarcerated country in the world. There are more black men under correctional control today than were under slavery in 1850. “

That is how you finish an acceptance speech. It hurts. We need to pay attention.

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Inspiration, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Glory. A Legend.

  1. I’ll have to watch the video later – it is getting a lot of traffic and is slow to stream. But your post has captured the essence, I expect. That is an astonishing statistic.

    • I grew up in a steel town that had a 47% minority population. I’ve seen things. It makes me so sad/angry. Thanks, Maggie, I hope you get to see the video. It’s an uplifting moment. Van

  2. megdekorne says:

    Oh Vanessa , I too had this stirring heart reaction … Shedding tears when I saw the movie , “Selma” …. Thank you so much for sharing something that truly matters to me …love xxx meg

    • I wish I understood why I relate so much to this issue. I remember watching the news in the 1960’s and being physically ill over what was happening in the South. This was not the world of black/white relations that I knew…or was I just being naive? Thanks, Meg. I was happy to share.

  3. mandy smith says:

    “That is how you finish an acceptance speech. It hurts. We need to pay attention.” Yes, yes, and yes. I, too, saw this last night, Van, and it was powerful. My heart hurts at how much attention we need to pay. ♥

  4. This was my favourite part the show – tears streamed down my face as well! ❤
    Diana xo

Leave a Reply

