Bring Him Home

The power of music. This song, performed by the incomparable Colm Wilkinson, the original Jean Valjean of Les Miserables, has brought me to my knees for decades.

This is dedicated to a special someone; one who has struggled, but will survive.

God on high
Hear my prayer
In my need
You have always been there.

He is young
He’s afraid
Let him rest
Heaven blessed.
Bring him home
Bring him home
Bring him home.

He’s like the son I might have known
If God had granted me a son;
The summers die
One by one,
How soon they fly
On and on
And I am old
And will be gone.

Bring him peace
Bring him joy
He is young,
He is only a boy.

You can take,
You can give
Let him be
Let him live.

If I die, let me die
Let him live, bring him home
Bring him home
Bring him home.

Composer: Claude-Michel Schonberg.

Lyricist: Herbert Kretzmer

This entry was posted in Art, Inspiration, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bring Him Home

  1. Well, it’s a good thing I haven’t put my mascara on yet. Lovely.

    • Me too, Barbara. Last week, I saw Josh Groban perform this song. There are tears, and then there’s the “ugly cry”, the one that starts in your midsection and wells up. The emotions are at surface-level for me, and it was needed. Thanks. 💕

  2. Long before I ever saw Les Mis, the soundtrack, including the track above, brought me to my knees. Thanks for sharing it with us today, Van. ❤
    Diana xo

    • My pleasure, Diana. I saw a lot of theater, usually with others. I saw Les Mis alone,oddly enough; maybe I suspected that I needed that space. I cried through the whole thing. Favorite of all time. I left drained, but hopeful ! ☺ Van

  3. George says:

    Love this song and play and I’ve never heard anyone sing it with as much depth or passion as he did.

    • Agreed, George. There was an anniversary performance in the U.K., maybe the 10th, 20th ? Noted cast members from all over the world performed…no one came close to his version of this. It was as if he was crying the song. Goosebumps. ☺ Van

  4. Lovely song. Listening to it as I write this. Thanks for sharing it.

  5. Amy says:

    Beautiful song. I cry whenever I hear it!

Leave a Reply

