Meeting Grandma

Cemetery Brandywine Valley

St. Cecilia’s Cemetery

It was one of the sweetest gestures ever, and it came from the tiny hands of my son, 15 months old.

We were back on the east coast for the first time in many years. My mother had passed away seven years before.

She did not live to know her grandchildren.

On a beautiful summer day, I took the kids to visit my Dad and opted to drive by the cemetery.

It was spontaneous, not something I’d ever thought about doing.

I was sure they would be okay. Then aged 4 and 1, they were a bit young to understand what they were seeing, and mostly just curious.

It is a beautiful, peaceful place; set on a hillside that overlooks the valley where I grew up.

As we stood by the grave, I talked about my mother, told them how ill she had been, and how very proud she would have been of them.

I held back the tears, wanting this to be a positive experience.

Then, this happened.cross

My son walked over to the edge of the wooded area nearby, picked up 2 sticks, wrapped them together in the form of a cross, secured it with a few reeds of grass and quietly placed it in front of my mother’s headstone.

None of us said a word. We walked back to the car.

Now there were tears.

Old Soul.

 

This entry was posted in Childhood, Family, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Meeting Grandma

  1. Sue Vincent says:

    No wonder there were tears x

  2. Trish says:

    Stop it…I’m on my break at work, in tears!!

  3. Children are truly wise little angels. They seems to have their hearts in the right place and can teach us adults about what’s important in life. What a sweet story.

  4. AmyRose says:

    Van, oh wow! I am crying. Whoa. This really hit me. I am just covered in gooesbumps as well. You have touched my Soul. Love, Amy ❤

  5. Amy says:

    Gulp – I feel that one. So touching and sweet. I cherish moments like these.

  6. Erika Kind says:

    Oh yes, no way to hold back tears anymore. How touching!

  7. How very lovely. An old soul and a beautiful one!

  8. lbeth1950 says:

    How touched your mother must have been.

  9. gh0stpupp3t says:

    Van, that was touching. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  10. C.E.Robinson says:

    Van, what more can I add? Your son’s gentle touch…so beautiful! Christine

  11. George says:

    Wow…what can anyone possibly say to that gesture. I don’t even know if I could have moved for some time after that. Children always seem to act on their first impulse. There’s a lesson in their somewhere for all of us.

  12. mandy says:

    Oh Van, that is so touching. At that age your son didn’t have the words. But who needs words? Wow 💕

  13. Very sweet and loving. You are blessed to have such a sensitive son.

  14. markbialczak says:

    Blessed moment, Van. I’m glad you shared it with me. Thank you. Old soul, indeed.

  15. Lovely boy.Lucky mom. Lucky boy, come to think of it. How else did he get so lovely?

  16. megdekorne says:

    An old soul …how touched with the Divine … blessings dear Van

Leave a Reply

