Sweet Tea. House Wine of the South.

tea

Graphic from Getty Images.

As a lifelong fan of iced tea, I had never experienced Sweet Tea until we moved to South Carolina.

There is some dispute over its origin..maybe Summerville, St. Louis or on a Virginia plantation. No matter.

The video below, while lovely, lies.

The secret to true sweet tea is not about adding sugar to the brewed tea.

We all did that, and it does not come out as smooth.

So, I will betray my hometown of many years and spill the secret:

You add sugar to the boiling water first, to create a sort of simple syrup. Then add the tea bags to brew.

 It makes all the difference, y’all.

You’re Welcome.Summerville

http://www.cbsnews.com/news/lets-raise-a-glass-to-iced-tea/

And in case that CBS lady’s lovely voice put you to sleep, I’ll add this one, a favorite from comedian Gary Valentine….

http://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.cc.com%2Fvideo-clips%2Fbrd7kv%2Fcomedy-central-presents-atlanta-sweet-tea%3Ftime%3D1m39s%26fb_ref%3Dfbshare_web&h=cAQE7xug2&s=1

 

 

This entry was posted in Education, Food, Humor, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Sweet Tea. House Wine of the South.

  1. Jim says:

    Mmmmmmmm. sweet tea

    • For real…I was hopped up on this stuff for 4 years straight. The caffeine, and the sugar, sneaks up on you. ☺

      • Jim says:

        I flew in to Warner Robbins AFB after Desert Storm. Several of us had to spend the night before we could head for home the next day. a couple of us headed over to the Rec Center to get something to eat before heading off to sleep. I ordered a burger, fries and some tea. this lady behind the counter asked “You want sweet tea?” I knew I was home at that moment.

      • A truly sweet moment for you, Jim. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I had no idea. I’ll have to try it that way =)

  3. Ah, so that’s the secret recipe. Are you in trouble with the locals for spilling the beans? I mean, the tea?

  4. Absolutely! That is the secret! I can’t drink it anymore like that, but it is a sweet elixir of the Southern Hospitality Gods. ❤

  5. Nurse Kelly says:

    Thanks for the tip! I prefer it unsweetened though, because I’m kind of radical about the perils of sugar… but I do love iced tea and drink hot matcha tea every day for the antioxidants.

  6. Sounds like a good way to make it. Our usual way of making sweetened iced tea leaves sugar crystals on the bottom of the glass.

  7. What would ice tea be without the sweet?! 🙂

  8. George says:

    I hope they don’t toss you out if South Carolina for spilling the beans.

  9. Good to know. Thanks for the tip!

  10. Melanie says:

    So true! It’s has to still be hot otherwise the sugar just sinks to the bottom.

  11. lbeth1950 says:

    My daughter-in-law is from Arizona. Her father told her not to come home drinking sweet tea and eating grits.

  12. markbialczak says:

    Before the Type II, Van, I had discovered Sweet Tea. And, yes, wow.

    • Sorry about the II, Mark, it seems to be epidemic. I wonder how much I’d miss the sugar. My experience with salt is that when I back off a bit…everything (especially restaurant food) seems extra salty now.

      • markbialczak says:

        You would miss the sugar a lot, Van. It’s been 20 years since my diagnosis, and still I remember and crave. Sugar-free foods have come a long way, but the substitutes still have that funky aftertaste, or make the desserts dry.

Leave a Reply

