Beginnings

130628_SlateV_IRA-GLASS-STILL-1.jpg.CROP.rectangle3-large

Ira Glass. slate.com

When beginning any creative effort, you will be challenged, even discouraged. This short video might be just what you need. A bit of brilliance in under 2 minutes.

From Ira Glass, award winning host and producer of “This American Life”.

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Beginnings

  1. Erika Kind says:

    Very good, Van! Good things simply need time. They need to get the chance to develop and to unfold, most of all through seeming failure! But only because one way doesn’t work out never means that our dream is not worth to go for. It only needs time and experiences to bring it to perfection or at least to fulfillment.

  2. Melanie says:

    I heard this back in college when I was just beginning with writing. I’ve been writing for 12 years now and blogging for 5. I have volume, but I never could have imagined what a volume of work entailed back at the start. It’s only been the last year or so that I’ve started to think, “yes, these words are good.” This is video is great. It reminded me all those years of “this is crap” were good for me. And all these years now and coming: in 10 years I’ll be better than now for the next volume of volumes.

    • How great for you, Mel, that you heard this so early in your writing career. I think it would have helped so many aspiring writers back in my day. I had a journalism professor who challenged us by rejecting all our early works. I caved and changed the course of my degree…I didn’t understand his strategy. I do now. But I never stopped writing. ☺ Thanks and keep going. 💕

  3. Amy says:

    Boy did I need this today, after I was told by a 16 year old that my writing was remedial and not very literary. Thanks for the pep blog today 🙂

  4. Yup. Fight your way through that. Good advice Van. ❤
    Diana xo

  5. That was great, Van. Thanks for sharing it. Too true.

  6. Maria says:

    curiosity got me a bit off topic here, but how do you get that # under your headline?! Thank you!

  7. megdekorne says:

    ” fight your way thru ” … sooooo encouraging ! Thank you Van for your very “good taste ” …being with you dear friend , this morning has uplifted my spirit and inspired me ….love and hugs , megxxx

  8. That is a great piece of advice which puts things into perspective

Leave a Reply

