No One Is Alone

Sometimes in life, we go looking for sad songs, a tangible excuse to cry. And sometimes, they come to us, unexpected but welcome.

I happened across a Disney film adaptation of Stephen Sondheim’s renowned play “Into The Woods”. I knew the basic story to be a blending of a few famous fairy tales; Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Jack and the Beanstalk, Rapunzel. Into the Woods

I knew that Merle Streep took on the role of the witch, that Johnny Depp was the big bad wolf, that Anna Kendrick as Cinderella would showcase her vocal talents.

It looked like fun. Kid stuff. Childhood stories coming to life.

What I did not know, was how it would affect me.

This was Stephen Sondheim, after all. I should have known better.

There are a few brilliant songs, delivered with so much sensitivity, that I was brought to tears; not once, but several times.

In true Sondheim form, the emotions run deep. There are songs about parent/child relationships, mistakes, regrets, abandonment, unfulfilled wishes and lost dreams. There is also evidence of love and joy and hope, in spite of all.

“Stay With Me”, “Children Will Listen” and maybe the most moving and poignant of all, “No One is Alone”, with lyrics such as…

Just remember
Someone is on your side, someone else is not
When we’re seeing our side maybe we forgot
They are not alone, no one is alone

I’ve chosen a heartfelt stage performance of the song from the amazing Bernadette Peters.

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Inspiration, Movies, Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to No One Is Alone

  1. Erika Kind says:

    Oh that is a lovely song with such beautiful message. Great, comforting and encouraging lyrics! Thank you for sharing, Van! 🙂

  2. George says:

    Beautiful…now I’ll have to watch the movie. Thank you.

  3. Maria says:

    Never been convinced to see this movie, but you changed my mind! Looking forward to see it now 👍🏻

  4. megdekorne says:

    Hi Van …love the video , thank you and your writing and thoughts always so beautiful inspiring ..hugs and always love deer friend in this forest of life

  5. Now, I have got to experience this! 💗

  6. C.E.Robinson says:

    Van, I remember this movie. Your thoughts about it are right on! I could not have said it any other way! Chryssa

    • Thanks so much Chryssa…see, I can get used to your new name. ☺☺ It was surprisingly emotional for me, in so many ways. The orphaned children, the childless couple, the disapproving mother figures, etc. Wow.

      • C.E.Robinson says:

        Agree, it was an emotional film, even without personal experience with the content. It was empathizing emotions for me. Thanks for mentioning the new name. Chryssa has pretty much taken over my writing life. Totally left-brained about how I should write and how many pages a day. I find myself muttering to her, “Isn’t it time for a break yet?” You know the answer! Chryssa

      • I respect your discipline…write on ! ☺

  7. I know just what you mean. When I need an excuse to cry (and really why should we?) I watch The Notebook. I have no words to describe how much that movie moves me. It surprises me every time.

    • I have such a long list of movies that do that for me. The Notebook got to me as well. My husband still hasn’t seen it..I threaten to force feed it all the time..but he knows the story so well. ☺ Thanks, Debby. 💕

  8. Angie Mc says:

    Ooo, I’ll add this to my movie list, Van. And I know what you mean about being caught off guard by emotion. This especially happens to me when listening to music ~~~~

    • Yep…music gets to me too. And not just the sad songs. Really beautiful music, instrumental or choral, opera. Sometimes I wonder how I have gotten through my life standing upright ?? ☺

      • Angie Mc says:

        I’m with you, Van! I found a great spotify classical playlist and found myself tearing up to the point that I needed to turn it off in order to get my work done!

  9. What a beautiful song. Disney still does a remarkable job.

  10. markbialczak says:

    Not children’s play, this one, from what I saw of the trailers, Van.

  11. Loving your writing! This song did the same thing to me in the theatre! 💕💕💕

Leave a Reply

