Harvest

Stuffed Peppers. It is a family favorite, and the dish I had in mind when I planted 2 bell pepper plants in my deck garden last Spring.

I used a large clay pot, fertilized a few times, watered daily.

I gave them love.

One plant struggled, and was discarded early.

The other produced this solitary red beauty, shown actual size.pepper

It came to full maturity at about 1 inch long, and 1/4 inch wide.

I don’t know what to do with it.

It won’t require much meat or rice, but as a joke, I may stuff it anyway.

It will sit proudly next to the normal sized peppers I bought at Market this week, grown by a more successful farmer.

Lesson learned:

Do not buy vegetable plants from an anonymous gardening vendor at the local flea market.

This entry was posted in Education, Food, Gardening, home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Harvest

  1. That’s the most unusual bell pepper I’ve ever seen. LOL. Definitely stuff it and serve it up.

  2. Jim says:

    maybe it’s one of them dehydrated versions that you just add water to. yayayaayaya … I know that’s a stretch but work with me on this.

  3. Poor little pepper is a bit skinny, but it looks good 🙂

  4. Amy says:

    haha, that is hilarious. Looks like something that would happen to me.

  5. Nurse Kelly says:

    Are you sure that’s not a red jalapeno pepper?? LOL If you had more you could dry them and make garland out of them – I’ve seen it as kitchen decor!

  6. funny ☺️ sweet pepper!

  7. olganm says:

    So cute! I’m useless at growing anything so it looks quite good to me, but yes, stuffed… Miniature…:)

  8. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    I have a black thumb, so I avoid growing (aka killing) any living plants!

  9. It is too cute to stuff. I think you should just look at it and admire it until it goes to the great compost pile in the sky.

  10. One of my favorites too!

  11. I would like to see it if you stuff it! lol

  12. I’m thinking of cooking stuffed peppers for the first time this week. Super excited, any favorite recipes?

  13. nancyruth says:

    You can be proud of your pepper, whatever variety it is. It is homegrown after all. But this is what farm markets are for!

  14. markbialczak says:

    You tried and the plant tried, Van. Here’s to the Little Pepper. Cheers. ❤

Leave a Reply

