Water

The power of water.Summerville SC

The rain has stopped.

The problems have just begun.

These are Associated Press photos from a neighborhood we called home in the 1990’s.

Summerville, South Carolina.

Ashborough

Our home sat on a slightly elevated piece of land just a few blocks from these photos, along the Ashley River.APTOPIX-East-Coast-Rainstorm-South-Carolina-3_w540

The bank insisted that we have flood insurance, since we were in the 100 year flood plain.

Our neighbors were not required to have the insurance; since our house sat much higher, we argued about the requirement. We lost.

They were right.Dorchester Rd Summerville

So far, 17 deaths, mostly attributed to drowning while in vehicles.

Thousands of power outages, road closures, evacuations, homes destroyed.

Dams are failing, roads and bridges are washing away.

There are reports of caskets floating up from shallow graves and drifting away.Casket Preacher

The city of Charleston lies on a peninsula between 2 major rivers which flow into the Atlantic Ocean, just 20 miles south of this area.

They are preparing for the worst, as all the water up state heads for them.

I’m praying for my neighbors, who have been out of reach all week.

This entry was posted in home, News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Water

  1. jdawgswords says:

    and watch out for snakes and fire ants…and chemicals from underground storage tanks…the worst being the fire ants

  2. I hope you all keep safe Van. It looks pretty dreadful there where you are.

  3. I’ve been watching the news stories. Hope you hear from your neighbors real soon, and that you are safe from the high waters.

  4. mandy says:

    Oh Van, I too have been watching the news, horrified by what I see. Please stay safe, Van, and will be keeping you and your neighbors in my thoughts. Love you friend!

  5. Terrible, Van. We had two 100 year floods in my town only 7 years apart. Eight years later, we’re finally seeing the light at the end of the tunnel with the completion of our new school. So many people walked away from their homes because they had no flood insurance; banks foreclosed and property values dropped. The devastation of flooding doesn’t end when the waters recede. My best to you, your neighbors, and the impacted communities. 😦

    • This area was devastated by Hurricane Hugo, which hit Charleston head on, back in 1989. Downtown recovered, not so much on the outskirts. So sorry you experienced 2 floods…so much for every 100 years, huh ?? Thanks, Diana

  6. The news presents a scary picture because nature is unforgiving. Hope you and your neighbors make it through this with all necessary needs. Fingers crossed.

  7. Good lord. How disturbing would it be to see caskets floating by? Kind of nightmarish.

  8. I don’t watch television, but had heard a bit about the flood. It sounds and looks really horrible. Praying for everyone!

  9. Oh, Van, I am sorry you are in the midst of all that! One of our daughters lives next to the Congaree in Columbia but her immediate neighborhood was spared any significant damage.

    • Thanks, Jane, we are safe now, moved away from SC many years ago, but it is sad to see our old neighborhood suffer. Your daughter was very lucky, many in Columbia were affected. Thanks.

  10. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    So sobering, the power of nature.

  11. I send my prayers up with you Van. I remember our flood in 2013, Calgary is still making repairs! ❤
    Diana xo

  12. George says:

    I read yesterday the estimates are that 11 trillion gallons of water fell on the
    Carolina’s. That’s serious stuff.

  13. amommasview says:

    Oh no! That’s a lot of water!

  14. Nicole Lyons says:

    Sending Love and Light to you all ❤

  15. I’m sorry to hear about this. I know Summerville, haven’t seen it in years. I remember extreme weather in Charleston when I was a kid. Mostly hurricanes in the Fall and one December we had a heavy snowfall. I don’t recall flooding, ever…Not even during hurricane season.

  16. Horrible. In my thoughts and prayers…

  17. Hello my friend
    We are praying for the water to go down. It a shame so many were impacted.
    Take care, please be extra careful.
    Melinda

    • Thanks, M. They are not out of trouble for many days yet as the rivers rise, dams break.

      • I hope it’s not as bad as the television shows. I see this happen every year and I just think, these people may have lost mementos, baby shoes then they go hoe if have one left. We had one last year and its was terrible.
        I praying for your safety.
        Keep me posted when you can.
        🙂

  18. Nurse Kelly says:

    Hi Van! I just got home from Charlotte – some flooding, but all is well now… seems like the entire state of North Carolina is helping South Carolina now… especially Columbia where there are so many dams bursting. Thank you for bringing attention to this! Stay safe xo

  19. So sad! thanks for posting this!!

  20. markbialczak says:

    I’ll join you in prayer for your old neighbors and everybody down there affected by the flood, Van. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

