Breaking Silence

Chaplin speaks.

“Let us fight to free the world, to do away with national barriers, to do away with greed, with hate and intolerance. Let us fight for a world of reason, a world where science and progress will lead to all men’s happiness.”

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Inspiration, Movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Breaking Silence

  1. StephJ says:

    I love this video. The words are so true and timeless.

  2. Wow so interesting that people have been thinking the same thing and facing the same turmoil for years!

  3. Nurse Kelly says:

    Tears and goosebumps, my friend… wow. Thanks for sharing that – I don’t think I’ve ever seen him speak. I was so happy to see that you had posted! Are you just giving us an inspirational lift, here, or are you back from your break?

    • I’m breaking my own silence, Kelly. Thanks for noticing. All is well with the hubby. Life, blogging…going forward. Glad to be back. ☺ xox

      • Nurse Kelly says:

        So good to hear you husband is okay! That’s wonderful news! And so good to see you are back! xoxo

      • Like so many, I was hesitant to come back to blogging in such a volatile world climate. None of us knew exactly what to say. But, life must go on. I find words so comforting at a time like this. Will be trying to catch up to WP. Thanks, always, Kelly for your kind thoughts. xox

      • Nurse Kelly says:

        That’s the truth… leaves you without any words for a while. But I agree, sharing our feelings with each other really does help, and solidifies that fact that we will move forward undeterred. Be gentle with yourself on easing back into things so you don’t get stressed out… you don’t need that with the holidays approaching!

      • Good advice…will do !! ☺

  4. Truth. And if we don’t do these things then we let the terrorists and fearmongers win.

    • For sure…the whole point of terror. We need to stand strong. Thanks, Laura. ☺

      • I felt the need to write the following on FB the other day – fair warning that I am going to be deleting a bunch of people from my friends list: “I’m seeing far too much on my FB feed of people equating Islam with terrorism and extremism, of conflating refugees with terrorists. If you are at all thinking that way, please read this and consider how you are helping the terrorist’s cause:
        http://whatever.scalzi.com/2015/11/14/paris/“.

      • He expressed that point very well, thanks for sharing that post, Laura. Many of us would not/could not come to the defense of the actions of the worst of us. I like the examples he uses, especially Christians who would have to apologize for the KKK. Point well taken. It’s all about education, I think. We can’t feed into the ignorance.

  5. Erika Kind says:

    I love this. This is so very deep and true. I always get chills watching it.

  6. George says:

    What an interesting video..”only those who are not loved, hate”. Makes you wonder.
    Glad you popped in on us..:)

  7. The plea seems eternal and sadly needs repeating on a daily basis. Will we ever learn?

  8. AmyRose🌹 says:

    What a powerful video. It is put such sadness into my heart knowing that it seems man still has not learned and if anything things have actually gotten worse. My hope and some days is rather thin that man will put away greed, hate, violence, selfishness, anger, prejudice, and all those things they go against his natural state of being, that which is love. I will walk the path of love and of peace until my very last breath regardless of what the rest of the world is doing.

  9. AmyRose🌹 says:

    Forgive the typos, my friend. I am trying to train my Google speech so that I can answer comments faster and get to my friends’ blogs easier.

  10. I’ve never seen this. I knew that Chaplin had passionate beliefs but I didn’t know he had this much passion.

    “Look up, Hannah. The soul of man has been given wings, and at last he is beginning to fly. He is flying into the rainbow — into the light of hope, into the future, the glorious future that belongs to you, to me, and to all of us…”

    Thank you for posting this. It’s wonderful.

    • My pleasure. Glad you appreciated the timely message, Robert. Thanks for including the final phrases…they were left out of the video. ☺

      • I did not know the film so I didn’t know the context of the speech. I had to look it up because I wondered why Hitler was delivering such a soaring and passionate speech about human rights and human potential. When I understood that the speaker was a Jew who was mistaken for the dictator I was mesmerized. Chaplin was a genius.

      • He said much later that had he known about the atrocities of the Hitler regime, he never would have written this movie. Still…he was a visionary, and his words ring true for so many generations.

      • I watched it again and realized that what he had done was to mimic the way Hitler delivered his speeches.

        That soaring crescendo at the end made my hair stand on end.

  11. Reblogged this on Art by Rob Goldstein and commented:
    An excellent post from vanbytheriver.

  12. davidprosser says:

    An excellent speech and a lifelong dream of mine.The trouble is, when a man like Hitler gives the speech, the people follow because he instills in them National pride. But people follow blindly and as we’ve learned can commit any atrocity and claim just to be following orders.
    We need for people to think and for armies to refuse to follow any order that comes into conflict with humanitarianism. Once people accept all men as their brother we can move forward in Love and in Peace. We can learn how best to help each other overcome all the hurts of the World, slavery, famines and droughts amongst them. Together we can heal the scars of Mother Earth and create an equal paradise for all , a World where we can celebrate the differences between us and not fear them.
    Lets move on in that direction, no more hate in the World..
    Hugs

    • What a thoughtful comment, David. I so agree. One of the most poignant parts of the speech is when he addresses that “only the unloved hate”. The ease of radicalization of our youth in recent times points to the issue. We are all one humanity…we have a long way to go to come to that realization. Thanks so much for joining in the conversation. Hugs back to you.

  13. amommasview says:

    Wow… this is powerful!

  14. All we need is love. Glad to hear your husband is okay, Van.

  15. Fabulous quote. Thank you for sharing.

  16. Pingback: Breaking Silence | 3wwwblog

  17. Jens says:

    Reblogged this on 3wwwblog and commented:
    “I am free, no matter what rules surround me. If I find them tolerable, I tolerate them; if I find them too obnoxious, I break them. I am free because I know that I alone am morally responsible for everything I do.”

    by Robert A. Heinlein

  18. Pingback: My Picks Of The Week #47 | A Momma's View

  19. dyane says:

    All these beautiful comments are hard acts to follow, so I’ll answer in (what else?)
    emoji-form!
    My thoughts on Chaplin’s speech: ❤️
    My feelings about you:💜👍
    My hopes that you’re back to blogging & that the break is over: 🙏
    Hope you relax this weekend and I look forward to more 🚐!!!!

  20. Love this video – thanks for sharing! 💜

  21. WOW…very powerful and dramatic and true!!

  22. Ellen Hawley says:

    It’s been years since I last saw that movie. Thanks for the reminder of that speech.

  23. Pingback: Breaking Silence | wwwpalfitness

Leave a Reply

