Company’s Coming

Clean all the things.

Make it look like no one is living here.

Why do we do this to ourselves and pass it on from generation to generation?

My grandmother did it. My mother did it. Now, sadly, my daughter is doing it.

She sent me this clip with the note “this is me…every. single. time.”

I sent her an apology.

This entry was posted in Family, home, Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Company’s Coming

  1. George says:

    Such is life in in the legacy department. Funny that you felt you needed to apologize to your daughter. 😀
    I don’t know why we do it either but we do, though we’re not as crazy about it as we used to be. I’d rather it be clean after everyone leaves..:)

  2. It is an affliction…

  3. Sue Vincent says:

    Thank goodness I had sons and failed to pass it on… so I clean Nick’s when he has company coming 😉

  4. I grew up that way, too. Now, I love it. There’s nothing like setting your bare ass cheeks down on a freshly scrubbed and bleached toilet. Makes you feel like a queen. (flushes toilet)

  5. Hilarious. And then they all come and mess it up

  6. LaVagabonde says:

    Ah, yes. I know this tradition well. However, my sisters and I, and even (gasp) our mother, have chilled out over the years. I still battle daily with hay (from the pet rabbit). You wouldn’t believe where that stuff, and stray little turds, end up! 🐰

    • But rabbits…adorable, even in their mess ! ☺ A few years back, my daughter surprised me for Mother’s Day. Oddly enough…she said the house didn’t look much different without my frenzied efforts. Something to think about ?? Thanks, Julie.

  7. Erika Kind says:

    OMG! There was a time I was close like this… but thank God never that close! LOL!

  8. nancyruth says:

    I was just telling my husband that we need to have company once a month just to clean the house!

  9. megdekorne says:

    So funny , really ! I so relate …..( sorry , I’ve missed your site Van, trying to catch up ) …wishing you a most lovely thanksgiving filled with blessings …love and hugs , megxxx

  10. I moved my parents in with me….we live among each other’s clutter on a daily basis now. Still, we cling to the generational tradition even when no company is coming!

  11. You’re so right! Why do we do this? And yet…..we just keep on with it……actually kind of funny when you think of it!

  12. bercatliz says:

    I remember visiting a friends aunt, the flat was so clean and tidy, the grandchild playing quietly, I thought, all this for me, I felt uncomfortable she had gone to such trouble.

    • It’s so true, I wonder about the comfort level of the guests. I had a friend who used to pop in on me, often unannounced, and was discouraged when, to her, it looked just as clean. She was nervous that I’d visit her on a whim. Interesting ?? Thanks for the read and comment. ☺

  13. dyane says:

    My Mom is coming here for Thanksgiving & she paid for a cleaning team (a lovely husband & wife) to clean our house. It’s not cheap, but she knows how much I appreciate it! :)) I’m VERY, very thankful she’s so generous despite the fact she doesn’t have much $.

  14. The only time I clean is when company is coming, so it’s a good thing I have company at least once a month!

  15. lbeth1950 says:

    Reblogged this on Nutsrok and commented:
    Reblogged from Vanbytheriver. She’s been in my head again.

  16. lbeth1950 says:

    What! No mention of the refrigerator and stove insanity. This is my husband. I cook like a fiend. But that makes me happy. Reblogging.

  17. hahaha ok this is hilarious!

  18. JunkChuck says:

    Thank you. This video made my day.

  19. mandy says:

    I do it too–and also when just my daughter is coming over! I’m thankful though-my only excuse to deep clean! Love the video, Van 😀

  20. Laughing SO hard!!! Oh, Van!!! We are all guilty of this! I no longer do this, though. None of my in-laws will even come over to our house due to the fact we have CATS. Yup! BIG relief on my part!!! Hubby and I had the BEST Thanksgiving ever yesterday! We and our cats celebrated LIFE and the LOVE that was present I wouldn’t trade at any price!! Hope you had a great Holiday, Van!!! ❤

    • Love your cat solution to in law visits..We had a small, but meaningful celebration with immediate family on Wednesday, by request. So Turkey day was about relaxation and leftovers. Perfect. 💕

      • LOL That solution was not done on purpose!! But it worked out to our advantage. In laws, silly people, associate cats with a filthy house. That could not be further from the truth. Sure we have um hair, but hey, that comes with the territory of having pets. LOL
        Anyways … so happy YOU had a wonderful holiday. What JOY it is to have Peace on a holiday. 😉 💞🌹💞

  21. badfish says:

    yeah…I just don’t have that problem. My house is always clean. AND I NEVER invite anyone over!

  22. Nurse Kelly says:

    Sooooo true! And it just adds to stress! I try to tell myself there is a big difference between messy and dirty… and accept the “messy” at times and then just leave it at that!

  23. and I’m doing it but now with joy! ☺️

Leave a Reply

