December-Born

In a recent conversation at Barnes & Noble, three strangers bonded over the love-hate relationship we have with December. We were all born in this month of joy and celebration.December birthday

We all felt cheated.

I grew up poor, in a family of 8. But that wasn’t the issue.

My family had a very active social life. They liked to party.

calendarI had the misfortune of being born at a time of year when life was hectic.

Family calendars were full.

The weather was often bad.

Finances were stretched.

Everyone was recovering from Thanksgiving. Everyone anticipated Christmas.

My siblings all had birthday parties.

They were celebrated in April, May, June, August. Three of them fell within days of Memorial Day. There were always lavish celebrations.

It was hard not to notice.

Excuses always came with the same verbage.

“We’re sorry. We’ll be sure to get you a little extra something for Christmas.”

It just never happened.

In my late teens and adult years, there was redemption.

Friends stepped up. Family paid attention. Loving gestures mattered.December-Birthday-Cake-2

Better late than never ?

If you have a family member with a December birthday, please take notice.

Find some way to celebrate them.

Just not at Christmas.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Celebration, Childhood, Family, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to December-Born

  1. jdawgswords says:

    me: 12-7-62…my best friend forgot me last year, she said she just got busy and lost track of the day…i don’t any more from strangers

  2. AmyRose🌹 says:

    Aw, (((HUGS))), Van!!! It hurts to get cheated, especially as a child!! BIGGER ((((HUGS))) ❤ ❤ ❤

  3. We gave a granddaughter a summer birthday which just happened to coincide with mine

  4. George says:

    I’ve always felt bad for December babies because they always get cheated. Even when parents/people remember, it’s either a money thing or the celebration is tempered with the holiday season and the closer you get to Christmas the worse it becomes. Everyone should have their own special day so I think you should celebrate your half birthday in June each year😊

  5. Erika Kind says:

    I so feel that disappointment of a child that sees how everyone celebebrates but is not allowed to celebrate herself. I know some who have birthdays in December and I always thought it was great of the families that they made room for that. Because it has to be made!

  6. Happy Birthday to you, Van! Hope this year everyone makes the day special for you. And of course, treat yourself!

  7. Erica Herd says:

    Happy Birthday to you!

  8. LaVagabonde says:

    Happy Birthday, Van. 🙂

  9. JunkChuck says:

    My brother in law Bill was born on Christmas Day. He gets gypped a little on the presents, but we always get him a big cake, sing happy birthday at the big dinner table, and he gets the benefit of a big crowd (even if he has share it the attention with Jesus, that’s okay, he takes his Catholicism pretty seriously) every year.

  10. It is a shame that you December babies get cheated out of a proper birthday celebration. I do feel for you. You should choose another day to celebrate as well 🙂

  11. I completely agree with you, Van. I have a birthday just after Christmas and can always remember as a child being told “Here’s your Christmas and Birthday present.” It doesn’t matter so much anymore, but as a child it mattered so much. Still, at least I was not born on Leap Day.

  12. Although I’m a November baby, I have a lengthy history of wretched birthdays. I would say 80% of them have been terrible. I, therefore, empathize with your feelings even if I can’t identify with the cause. Happy Birthday for Saturday! Do spoil yourself.

    • My mother’s day was Nov. 29, Laura, and she was often recognized during the Thanksgiving celebration. Not sure that was any better ? Thanks for the birthday wishes. Spoiled…I will be. ☺

  13. Van, my mom’s birthday is on the 22nd, and she’s been overlooked as far back as she can remember! My birthday is on Valentine’s Day, don’t even get me started… ❤
    Diana xo

    • Oh my…Valentine’s Day takes on a new meaning for you. Sorry for you…and your mom. ❤️ I have a brother in law born on the 22nd. He is estranged from the family for decades now. Complicated.

  14. Nurse Kelly says:

    Happy Birthday, Van! My daughter’s boyfriend was born on a leap year day, (Feb. 29) so the joke is he only celebrates his birthday every 4 years! Apparently they’re called “leaplings,” which I had never heard before! So I guess things could always be worse, right?! lol

  15. amommasview says:

    Oh, I always said to my husband that I’m glad the kids have their birthdays mid year, so it evens it out. I had a friend whose birthday was on the 24th of December. She was told that she gets extra presents but it never happened. Then they decided to start celebrating a not-your-birthday day on the 25th of June. She was happier from then on. Instead of having a birthday party with no one attending on the 24th of December (her parents were running a hotel in a ski resort…) she had a not your birthday party in June with all her friends. I thought that was a pretty cool idea.
    I had another friend with her birthday on the 31st of December. When she was a kid she did not like it that much but afterwards she always said that she got the biggest party ever with heaps of fireworks just for her 😉

    • That mid-year “not birthday” celebration seems like such a great idea. I have a good friend whose daughter was born on 12/31. We took gifts to her every time we saw her for NY Eve parties. Mixed feelings for her. ☺

  16. Happy Birthday!! I had a friend growing up who’s birthday was December 24th- and she had 2 other siblings and always felt like she didn’t really have a birthday. I on the other hand was an only child born in January, so I got two weeks of birthday. Even now if my boyfriend tries to stop celebrating my birthday after a few days, he gets some serious death glares. It’s a solid two weeks of chocolate cake or death- his choice.

  17. Happy birthday for the 5th! Two of my daughters have December birthdays and I was always specially careful to try and make them memorable, but even so, they lost out because of friends being busy. I’m off to Sydney on Saturday to be a surprise for one of them with a birthday on the 7th.

    • How great to be surprised for a birthday celebration alone ! Good for you. My adult kids did that for me, travelling to celebrate with me. It was always special and truly appreciated. Thanks, Helen. 💕

  18. lbeth1950 says:

    My daughter’s birthday was the day after Christmas. We always celebrated but could lead never get kids to come to a party. It was hard for her.

  19. Happy birthday dear Van!

  20. Kev says:

    Yep, I can definitely second that! 🙂

  21. Pingback: FEATURED: ” Happy Birthday Kev ” Tribute to a great guy | Ace Sales & Authors News

  22. My best friend in high school who’s name was Chris was born on Christmas day. I always made sure to buy him a Christmas and birthday gift.

  23. My mom’s birthday was december 18th and I know, that as a child, she always got one gift that was for both celebrations, never two. I knew that was wrong and unfortunate. I always watched out for December kids. My son-in-laws birthday is tomorrow and we always have a separate party for him and his gifts are wrapped in birthday paper, not Christmas paper because it was already out and easier.

    I was born in August and when in high-school, all of us, the kids who had birthdays over the summer, never had our lockers decorated or parties during lunch. LOLOL

Leave a Reply

