Christmas Cards

I mailed out my Christmas cards this week. Less than 20.

Times have changed.

Growing up in a family proud of its many friends, I watched every year as they decorated with the holiday cards. There must have been hundreds.

They were taped onto woodwork, up the stairs, in the archways between rooms.

wreath-christmas-card-holder

Wreath Display. JUMBL

They were a treasured part of their annual celebration.

When we married and moved away, I started my own tradition.

Never caring for those dreaded “form letter” updates, I chose to compose personalized letters in my own hand. It took a few days, but I was proud to do it, and believe that it was appreciated.

For some friends and family, it was the only communication we had during the year, so it mattered to me.

Later, there were more pictures than words.

Then came social media, where I could reconnect on a regular basis, any day at all.

I miss the letters, both writing and receiving them.

This year, although to fewer folks, I reinstated the tradition.

Joyfully.

This entry was posted in Celebration, Family, home, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Christmas Cards

  1. It is a lovely tradition Van. I still send out some cards, although not that many πŸ™‚

  2. C.E.Robinson says:

    Va, I’m with you. I loved the tradition! But have gone to social media, e-mails and text messaging. Still send a personal message and find great clipart, etc to include. Cards just got too expensive! Merry Christmas πŸŽ„ & Happy New Year! πŸŽ‰Chryssa

  3. I still send out about 50 cards each year but, thinking back to my own childhood, I know my parents used to receive and give more. I think the internet generally keeps us all in touch more and I know many people have quit sending cards for that reason. I also think the price of postage is prohibitive to many. It cost me $1.20 to send cards overseas so I think I too am going to be forced to scale back further next year.

  4. We had the same, Van – Christma cards up the door frame. Now, I just can’t seem to keep up. A few years ago I sent out my Christmas letter with Valentine’s Day cards. It’s lovely that you hand write your cards. They must be so looked forward to. πŸ™‚

  5. Erica Herd says:

    I admire you for doing that. I don’t write notes, only Christmas cards. Hand hurts from typing for a living, and like you, sending to fewer people now.

  6. Anonymous says:

    A very beautiful tradition dear friend , seriously lovely ( inspires ) love and blessings ( hugs too ) megxxx

  7. Erika Kind says:

    We are placing all the cards we get during one year onto our sideboard. It gets pretty full. I am happy that still so many people send out cards!

  8. That is a very nice tradition!

  9. The V-Pub says:

    I think that a card, especially hand written, can never be replaced by an email. We send out our family cards, usually my kids posing by the tree, and we’ll include the dog if he stays still long enough. I think that it’s a wonderful Christmas tradition to continue.

    • Ha…on the dog. We never tried to get ours to stand still. He was too curious about the flash, tripod, etc. πŸŽ„ Sometimes, the kids didn’t cooperate much either, now that I think about it. ☺

  10. George says:

    Good for you, Van. There are few better gifts than a handwritten note to someone..:)

  11. LaVagabonde says:

    I have also noticed the transition over the years. We used to tape ours up around a doorway and they would go all around it. Then in the 1980s came the form letters, which my mother wouldn’t do, either. Then came email, where people would send form emails and maybe a photo ecard. Then…facebook. During my very brief time on there, I noticed that people now just post a status update “Merry Christmas” on their own walls and call it good. I’ve always sent cards.Like you, my list has really dwindled over the years, but I refuse to give up the habit.

    • Yep, same pattern here. Until recently. I’ve kept my original Christmas card list from the 1970’s, Julie. It has many name changes, address changes, cross-outs, etc. I started it on a few pages from a yellow legal pad. It is like a working history of friendship for me, and it lives tucked away in an empty Christmas card box that I retrieve every year. Sweet.πŸŽ„

  12. Ever since I was a child I’ve always loved writing and sending Christmas cards, Van. As a child we would string them up along a wall and I would always count them. I still send out lots of Christmas cards and, of course, I always recycle the ones we get once Christmas comes to end.

  13. Maria says:

    I usually write a Christmas letter to those I don’t talk to other than through likes and pics on social media. Even my old therapist get that email! It’s a great tradition, and maybe I should change it to handwritten personal letters instead πŸ‘πŸ»πŸŽ„πŸŽ…πŸΌβ£

  14. I haven’t sent Christmas cards in years, so I no longer receive them (or receive very few). Oh, well…

  15. megdekorne says:

    I too love this tradition ….so special to experience someone’s hand writing …Van , you have become so alive with the light of friendship with your sweet acceptance and loyal encouragement ( thank you ) …I treasure you dear ( deer ) one and wish you many blessings this Christmas season …hugs and love always , megxxx

Leave a Reply

