Ground Control to Major Tom

Rest in peace, gentleman rocker, you were one of a kind.

The world lost Ziggy Stardust today. He never seemed to be “of this earth”, and has left us a legacy of innovation, creativity, and vision.

This is an excerpt from an older blog post.

American Express once used Simon and Garfunkle’s “America” in their ads, a beautiful, poetic song from 1968.

bowie

David Robert Jones 1947-2016

An even better, more intense version of this one came from the genius that is David Bowie, a native of England  who was transplanted in New York.

It comes from the Concert for New York City, shortly after the tragedy of September 11, 2001.

Seated cross-legged on a dimly-lit stage, playing rhythm on a simple keyboard, the mood, the sentiment; I love just about everything on this video.

There were so many healing moments that artists provided at that time; for me, this was one of them. Powerful.

Brilliant song writing with an amazing and appropriate interpretation. Music at its best.

This entry was posted in Art, Entertainment, Inspiration, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Ground Control to Major Tom

  1. Fiona says:

    I am so sad at this news.

  2. roweeee says:

    Thank you so much for sharing the Bowie clip. I assume that was a reflection on 9/11 and the destruction of the World Trade Centre.
    I have been thinking a bit about Bowie tonight. I guess the song I thought of was Space oddity. I figure Bowie is now up there in some kind of tin can and looking down on Earth.
    It’s amazing how the death of someone we have never met and touched so many hearts who’ve had their Bowie moments.
    xx Ro

  3. Like minds.
    His originality and passion for what he did will be remembered!

  4. The V-Pub says:

    An amazing artist, and a devastating loss. Bowie was/is among my favorites.

  5. LaVagabonde says:

    Oh no. I don’t read the news, so I learned this from you. An unbelievable loss. so many of the last true musical artists are vanishing from our plane of existence.

  6. 💙❤️💜

  7. Thanks so much for posting this. A great artist! And thanks for following my blog. #gratitude : )

  8. My wife has been rattled by this news. She was obsessed with David Bowie for about a 15 year period and had written and presented several academic papers on his lyrics. I have fond memories of Bowie in the early 1980’s with his innovations in music videos. He was a man ahead of his time.

    • I understand the sentiment, John. I have been surprised by my own reaction.💔 And, he was indeed a man ahead of his time…always. The definition of a visionary. Thanks for sharing.

  9. Erika Kind says:

    I did not know this song! Shame on me. It really is amazing in its simplicity. Another legend that whent home… RIP David 💖

  10. I grew up with Bowie and have so many favorite songs. A lovely tribute, Van. A sad day with the icons of our past fade into the past. 😦

  11. RIP David Bowie ❤ ❤ ❤

  12. Nurse Kelly says:

    I’ve been having a hard time with this news all day. Your video brought tears. It really is hard to let go of an icon in your life, even though you never met them. Thank you for the beautiful tribute. xo

  13. joey says:

    I tell you, this was not the news I wanted today.
    On Saturday night, we were watching Nick & Nora’s Infinite Playlist and somehow David Bowie was mentioned and we realized Sassy had no idea who David Bowie was, so we gave her some reminders via songs she knows and showed her images and videos, and voila supermodel wife, like, “He’s a big deal, Sassy.” Then on Sunday someone posted the gif of the many faces of David Bowie, because it had JUST been his birthday, and I showed her that.
    So this morning, when I toddled out of bed and got my coffee I was not prepared to hear, “David Bowie died.” At first, I didn’t even believe my husband. Truly. We had a very David Bowie weekend here.
    What a loss.

  14. mitchteemley says:

    A true original in a world of copies. I’d never heard his take on “America.” Sweet goodbye.

  15. JunkChuck says:

    Reblogged this on Old Road Apples and commented:
    For this very special Tunesday, in the wake of the loss of David Bowie, I’ll be reposting the eulogistic tributes from other WordPress writers.

  16. Amy says:

    That is freakin’ amazing!

  17. I loved David Bowie, it’s hard to grasp that he’s not here anymore, he will most definitely be missed. His role as the Goblin King had a big impact on me growing up…

Leave a Reply

