Take It Easy

January has been a sad month for rock music fans. Glenn Frey, founding member of the Eagles, died yesterday at the age of 67, due to complications of rheumatoid arthritis, pneumonia and ulcerative colitis.

They adorned the 1970’s with legendary sounds, beautiful harmonies and meaningful lyrics. Most noted for the iconic “Hotel California”, Frey co-wrote music and lyrics with Don Henley, and sang lead on some of my favorites, including “Take It Easy”.

I found myself singing along to it just this past weekend, as a 70’s music radio program featured one of his best, most famous lyrics; words which have spoken to me over a lifetime:

” Don’t let the sound of your own wheels make you crazy.”

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Take It Easy

  1. What a month! I love this song! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Nurse Kelly says:

    I guess I’ll switch from my binge-listening of Bowie to The Eagles now. So sad. Another music icon gone too soon.

  3. LaVagabonde says:

    I cringe to think of who’s next….they are all getting pretty old.

  4. Growing up in the 70’s with classic rock before it was “classic” was wonderful. I remember my daughter listening to the same music a generation later. What talents and gifts to the world. I knew we would all get old together and that these days would eventually come. What a ride though.

  5. Fiona says:

    Shhesh, I can’t keep up. I’m sad abut this, but so happy we saw them when they were in Cape Town. Happy memories from school and university and more recently. Thank heavens we still have the music.

  6. Judy Martin says:

    Love this song, but ‘Hotel California is my favourite. Another huge loss to the music world.

  7. George says:

    They were one of the all time best. Classic sound and lyrics.

  8. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    He will be missed….

  9. Love this song. It’s such a classic! 🙂

Leave a Reply

