Cake

wedding cake

Photo. Srslydsgn.com

I was lured by the promise of wedding cake.

A local radio station was broadcasting live from a Bridal Show, a perfect diversion for my afternoon walk.

A popular annual event that I knew from my days in the hospitality industry, it is  held in the drab winter months to attract Spring brides and loved ones.

Mostly an event for women, there is the rare groom, bravely smiling, toting a bag full of business cards, brochures and raffle entry forms.

Outside, there are a few dads, smoking nervously, maybe serving as the designated driver. There is always a lot of wine.

Including an elaborate fashion show, vendors from all facets of the wedding industry are represented; event venues, hotels, DJ’s, honeymoon destinations, cosmetologists, spa treatments, tuxedo rentals, decorators, etc. A string quartet entertained in the lobby.

There are abundant caterers, offering samples of their signature dishes… crostini with artichoke cheese, puff pastry, pasta, quesadilla bites, guacamole, BBQ, mac and cheese with tomato soup shots, egg rolls, fresh fruit and veggie displays, cheese boards, wine tasting, a hot chocolate bar with condiment toppings.

But, oh, the wedding cake might be the highlight. I sampled half a dozen, or more.

Coming off of a 3 day stomach virus, I might have been overconfident.

I’ll be back to tea and toast today.

This entry was posted in Beauty, Celebration, Entertainment, Family, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Cake

  1. The V-Pub says:

    It was worth the risk, Van! 😀

  2. Sometimes the pain is worth it though, right? I am lactose intolerant but sometimes I decide the discomfort is worth it just so I can munch a favourite cheese dish or indulge in clotted cream with a friend. Incidentally, traditional British wedding cake would not have enticed you I suspect. It is a heavy, solid fruit cake that is so gross people keep the top tier of the cake to carve up and give to guests at the christening of their first child. I saw some of Queen Victoria’s wedding cake on an episode of Antiques Roadshow once and it looked like it would have done a century and a half earlier. I did not do traditional wedding cake at my wedding. We had carrot cake. Anyway, I digress. Feel better soon.

    • I didn’t know of the British tradition, saw a bit of royal cake auctioned for a very high price on the sitcom, Seinfeld. ☺ One of the sample favorites I went for yesterday was carrot cake. Delicious.

  3. I have never been to one of these! It sounds like fun!

  4. I remember going around to various bakeries when my daughter was planning her wedding. Believe it or not, it is possible to get tired of wedding cake.

  5. Oh no. Well, it sounds like fun even if the cake(s) didn’t do you justice 🙂

  6. Never been to one of these but it sounds like I’ve missed out on some good food sampling. And some bad. :O)

  7. Sounds like a fun event! Hope you feel better soon. 🙂

  8. Judy Martin says:

    Oh, but I bet it was good at the time, Van! Hope you are feeling better now! 🙂

  9. Nurse Kelly says:

    Sorry to hear you weren’t feeling well. My son was home sick today with a virus. Hope I don’t get it!
    Back in my modeling days, I did many bridal shows. Wore many different gowns. Working those trains wasn’t easy! Brings back memories! That cake is beautiful – cupcakes are also really popular now at weddings, as I’m sure you know! 🙂

  10. Erika Kind says:

    The cake is the highlight indeed… normally! Ours messed up! One part was still frozend and the other one drowned in alcohol… perhaps an omen…. lol!

  11. Val Boyko says:

    Hope you are on the mend Van … and that it was worth it! What a fun way to spend the day, especially when you aren’t on a deadline or attached to the outcome!

  12. AmyRose🌹 says:

    Oh your poor tummy. Hope you are feeling better now, Van.

  13. Now that’s a fun event to stumble on while out for a walk. Sorry the tempting wedding cake was a bit much for your tummy.

  14. I do love wedding cake, truly something special, but it would be a bit much for anyone feeling a bit off their game.

  15. I love icing…just give me the icing…

  16. George says:

    lol…I don’t want to laugh but I did. Sorry😊

  17. nimi naren says:

    What fun…and all that amazing cake to taste. Hope you have recovered now☺

  18. Smiling. Transported along with you here

  19. TanGental says:

    I think I did well to read this to the end and while I sympathise with your alimentary agonies, as a father of a 23 year old who has bern planning her perfect wedding since she was circa 14 I find he idea of such a show utterly bewildering. The last nuanced addition was swans. Swans? Really? Doing what exactly? I’m terrified.

  20. The best wedding cake I ever had was at my nieces wedding. It was a burnt (not really burned) almond cake that a bakery in Pittsburgh is famous for. I had been looking forward to that cake since I found out what she ordered. When the cake was finally served at the reception, I had one bite, but walked away from the table for a minute to talk to a relative. When I got back, the cake was gone – the servers had cleaned up the table and thrown out the “left-over” cake. That was nearly 18 years ago and I am still pissed about it… I’ve got the wedding cake blues (and from the sounds of it, so do you!)

    • I wonder if that bakery is still there ? I have family in PGH. I haven’t been to a wedding for a few years now. It seems they come in cycles. The last one was a nephew in Australia…didn’t want the long flight. My loss. It was November, and summer there. ☺

  21. lbeth1950 says:

    Sounds like a sweet time!

  22. amommasview says:

    Have a bit for me too, please ❤️

  23. joey says:

    Sorry to read you had the ickies 😦 I hope tea and toast days are all finished?
    I enjoy all events with foodie prospects 🙂 Sounds like a wonderful indulgence to me!
    We got married in the backyard of my parents’ home. Under the tree, white folding chairs, lovely cake, but very, very simple 🙂 I can still enjoy a bridal show…and cake samples!

Leave a Reply

