Fruit Cones

A simple idea for those summer gatherings.

Dip waffle/sugar cones in chocolate, fill with fresh fruit, serve with favorite fruit dip.

fruit cones

Photo. Pinterest.

For the chocolate: Break a 3-4 oz. dark chocolate bar into a small bowl. Add 1 teaspoon coconut oil. Microwave 30 seconds at a time, stirring until melted and smooth. Dip cones in chocolate, allow to cool/set on waxed paper.

An easy fruit dip: Mix 1 block of cream cheese and 1 jar of Marshmallow Crème. Beat until a creamy consistency.  Add orange or vanilla extract.

With a lot of summer family picnics, I am always looking for a fresh idea.

This presentation is especially nice.

My other favorite, last-minute idea is the oversized chocolate chip cookie.

Take 1 to 2 tubes of prepared, refrigerated chocolate chip cookie dough, spread/flatten into a disposable aluminum pizza pan. Leave about 1-2 inches empty around the edges, since the dough will spread out.  Bake at 375 for 20-30 minutes. Cut into wedges while still warm.

Simple, and always a favorite.

Now, we just need it to stop raining.

This entry was posted in Art, Food, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Fruit Cones

  1. foguth says:

    Love this attractive & healthy idea!

    • Thanks, Jeanne. Not so sure about the sugar content being all that healthy, but it might be attractive to kids who won’t eat fresh fruit. And, it’s pretty. ☺

      • foguth says:

        Fruit & chocolate are supposedly healthy and they are cute … being lactose intolerant, I’m always in favor of using ice cream cones for something other than ice cream ;-)))

  2. What a great idea! I bet the kids would love this!

  3. Do you like flan?
    I have a killer recipe 😉

  4. Not the healthiest dessert, but interestingly, one the average consumer would place in the category as healthy alternative (based on the fruit appearance.)
    The presentation is beautiful and sometimes (in my opinion) fun outweighs healthy! It’s all part of BALANCED living. 🙂

  5. Great idea! Looks beautiful. Thanks for sharing, Van.

  6. Definitely trying the fruit cones!

  7. I know a 3-year-old who would love to picnic at your house, Van. I hope you get some sunshine soon!

  8. Wow love these ideas! The cones are so lovely!

  9. This looks really good. I love this idea and I know my children will 🙂

  10. joey says:

    Those do look good! And fun! Thanks for the idea 🙂

  11. Erika Kind says:

    Oh my, that looks awesome, Van! And it is healthy too!

  12. Elyse says:

    What a great idea!

  13. George says:

    LOVE this idea…thanks for sharing..:)

  14. How dare you entice me with your one dimensional treats online! Argh!!!! =P

  15. lbeth1950 says:

    That looks great!

  16. Norah says:

    Sounds delicious! I have a lovely recipe for a dip to have with fruit. Whipped cream is the base, with chopped chocolate, crushed peanut brittle cookies, and crushed hazelnuts, I think. I’ll have to check it out. It is absolutely delicious with bite-sized summer fruits.

    • Oh, yum. I have to admit that I never have Marshmallow cream in my house. Not a fan. I included the recipe for its simplicity. Yours sounds delightful, Norah. ☺

Leave a Reply

