Unmowed

By the end of May, with abundant rain, grass will grow to be almost 20 inches tall.

How do I know ?

lying_in_tall_grass_991

Wallpaper photo. Lying_ in_ tall_ grass.

There is one neighborhood lawn that has just been mowed for the first time.

I live in a community that is a mixture of centuries-old farmhouses and modern real estate development.

Our house was built on a corn field that was productive well into the 1980’s.

There might be 50-75 homes (I never counted) on very symmetrical lots.

The lawns are unique in their landscaping, all well-manicured.

Except for one.

We all wonder what happened here. It is not abandoned; there are cars in the driveway, lights on in the house.

Illness or disability comes to mind; a reality for many, particularly seniors who live in the area. Neighbors usually come to the rescue. Not this time.

They could hire a lawn service, there are many with a visible presence. It might be a financial issue.

wheatgrass

wheatgrass

If I’m being honest, I couldn’t really describe the house, it’s a few blocks away and I only see it on a drive-by.

But that growing front lawn was hard to miss.

There were very few weeds, it looked a bit like an overgrown patch of wheat grass that you see in a health food store.

And then, it was gone.

Mowed.

And it suddenly blended into the rest of the block.

I’m not even certain which house it was any more.  And that’s too bad.

There’s a metaphor in there somewhere.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Home, Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Unmowed

  1. Definitely a metaphor in there somewhere…! Not sure exactly what it is, either, but almost more worrying to see it mowed and lose it entirely.

  2. Val Boyko says:

    Perhaps the purchase of their goat fell through!

  3. TanGental says:

    All skinheads look the same?

  4. LaVagabonde says:

    Disobedience is always more noticeable than obedience.

  5. Hi friend
    Hope you are well, not sure if you drank the green juice. I make many types of juices but nothing green. I like the color just not to drink.
    🙂
    M

  6. More than one metaphor.

  7. spearfruit says:

    It always interests me in why people’s lawns are not taken care of – overgrown and out of control. By the way, thank you for following my blog. I will certainly take the time to visit yours as well. I hope your day is a happy one! 🙂

  8. It does make you wonder what the delay was about. Could be any number of things. In our house, it would be a broken lawn mower (we have several). It’s interesting the things we do to maintain community, and how an aberration is noticed until it conforms again. Stuff to think about 😀

    • The funny thing was, my husband and I did not agree on which house it was after it was mowed. Yep…that aberration was what we noticed. Sad, really. Thanks, D.

  9. Nurse Kelly says:

    I see this happen around me as well and often wonder what’s going on in a person’s life… usually not something good if a well-maintained yard starts to decline… good reason to know our neighbors. 🙂

    • So true. When we moved here, we were warned that folks “keep to themselves”. It’s the most private community we’ve ever experienced. Something about that Pennsylvania Dutch/German ancestry, I’m told. Except for the young families moving in…quite a bit more open. ☺

      • Nurse Kelly says:

        That’s good that the young families are that way – surprised to hear that with social media these days… but if you have kids, I think it’s always good to make an effort so they feel like they are part of their neighborhood or community. 🙂

      • The kids always make a huge difference in the comfort level…they bring adults together. Once they’ve left the nest…it takes more effort. 💖

  10. Yes, there is a metaphor in there somewhere and super interesting that once they mowed the lawn you can’t even remember which house it was – that sounds like something that would happen to me Van! ❤
    Diana xo

    • Our focus was on that grass, and a bit of fascination as to how tall it could get. I know I was also wondering how many times my husband had already mowed…almost twice a week at one point. ☺

  11. We have a house on our street that also lets the grass turn into a jungle and who – despite township laws – didn’t clear the sidewalks of snow in winter. Old age or inability is certainly not a factor as the man of the house is a marathon runner who runs every day. It’s very strange. Most people in our neighbourhood pay people to come and maintain their yards / gardens weekly. We and our next door neighbour are oddballs for doing it all ourselves.

  12. Our yard has gotten out of control. Time for me to weed and trim the roses. I leave lawn and bushes to my husband.

  13. It’s funny how we are uncomfortable when someone doesn’t conform to what we expect of them for whatever reason. Maybe it grated on them too, if there was a reason why they didn’t mow the lawn. 🙂

  14. We have some nearby lawns that look the same way. But no one seems to come around and mow them.

  15. George says:

    There are a thousand stories in the naked city…don’t you wish you knew what that one was about?

  16. Could have been illness, depression, family death… You know it had to have been something! It’s nice that you worry about it, though. When I lived in the city, if someone didn’t mow, people were on the phone to Codes as soon as it got a few inches too tall.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  17. It could have been a gamut of stuff really. Sometimes, I wonder what’s happening with folks especially if things don’t seem too right. Now they’ve got it done, let’s hope they are better from whatever it was.

  18. badfish says:

    that’s why I don’t want to live in a community…I don’t want to mow grass!

  19. lbeth1950 says:

    It does make you wonder. When I spent last summer with my daughter and wasn’t seen outside all summer, some of the neighbors thought something had happened to me.

  20. So interesting how something can stand out and then a small change and it’s invisible! interesting!

  21. Sadie's Nest says:

    I am totally drawn by this story. I wonder if they’ll let it creep up again? The mystery owners…

  22. joey says:

    I live next door to an abandoned house. It’s annoying. The grass has not yet been mowed. Not once all year. The bunnies like it very much, but I do not.

    • Oh, no. So sorry. Real estate listing agent ? maybe ?

      • joey says:

        No no, I just keep an eye on her. It’s not creepy to make sure she leaves the house every few days, right?

      • joey says:

        I am sorry, but I only realized when we pulled in the drive, this comment was about the abandoned house and not my hermit lady neighbor. I would love to find out more about the house, but I am at a loss as to how. Some local people wanted to buy it and they couldn’t figure out how. We don’t know if someone personally owns it or if the bank owns it, or if the city owns it. 😦

      • Yep, I was wondering if it was listed, sometimes the agent will have it mowed just to enhance property value. ☺

      • joey says:

        Nope, not listed. Oh how I wish.

  23. amommasview says:

    It just gave in. The pressure of being well maintained… It now fits in, is no longer unique, doesn’t stand out. The wilderness is gone. Actually a shame… Especially with the picture of the otter you posted. It made me think of all the animals that probably found a home and protection in the high grass and the bees that could eat on the wild flowers (weed?) growing… now it’s cut back…

Leave a Reply

