Poke Salad ?

My plans for a busy day were ruined the moment I downloaded Linda’s new book.

It was much anticipated, maybe from the moment I met her in person last summer.Poke

She and her mother have a gift for telling a story.

And it shows.

They took me back to a time and place that made me understand a lot more about my own family, and how they survived the Great Depression of the 1930’s.

They did it with love, devotion to family, tremendous sacrifice, hard work and most of all, a sense of humor.

Thank you for proving that it is possible to put that storytelling tradition in words on a page.

And thank you for ruining my plans of yesterday.

It was a delight.

**The book is now available in Kindle. I didn’t want to wait for the paperback.

https://www.amazon.com/Everything-Smells-Just-Like-Salad-ebook/dp/B01IVUXROQ

Her blog : https://nutsrok.wordpress.com/

 

This entry was posted in Art, Books, Entertainment, Family, Food, Humor, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

73 Responses to Poke Salad ?

  1. The V Pub says:

    One of the benefits of reading wordpress is to discover the wonderful artists and writers that abound. Thanks for the link, Van! I’ll check it out.

  2. Wow I have to get this book! She is wonderful

  3. yes but that was a wonderfully ruined planned day.. Love those kind of unexpected turns.. πŸ™‚ When we get so side tracked.. πŸ™‚ thank you for sharing Van..

  4. Thanks for the recommendation, Van. Linda’s blog is a delight and makes me laugh every time. A great sense of family and sense of humor πŸ˜€

  5. Oh wow! I can well imagine how good this is, with lots of chuckles and food for thought πŸ™‚

  6. I love Linda’s blog, too! You’re right. She has such a gift for storytelling. Thanks so much for sharing, Van. 😊

  7. Erika Kind says:

    Linda and her mom are just incredible. As you know, they are in reality as they appear in and through their stories! I am looking forward to the paperback version because I have no ebook devices. I am so excited! πŸ˜ƒ

  8. I’m reading Linda’s book now. It’s like a collection of richly woven fables. I’m glad you gave her the review she deserves.

  9. Reblogged this on Art by Rob Goldstein and commented:
    A review of Everything Smells Just Like Poke Salad

  10. They are the absolute best kind of entertainment. They make my heart happy.

  11. Val Boyko says:

    I have to go look up poke salad …. Will be right back.

    • Val Boyko says:

      I feel like I’m climbing a time warp in a different part of the world. Which is true, coming from Scotland! My family was always small and contained, even in the worst of times. It really is a breath of fresh air to touch into the embrace of larger families, survival and an undeniable hope for the future. The American spirit is right here❣

    • I had to do the same. I only knew about an old song…Poke Salad Annie. ☺

    • lbeth1950 says:

      Poke Salad is a wild, strong tasting green in Southern United States. It has to be twice-boiled with. first water thrown out. Otherwise it is toxic, causing nausea, vomiting and stomach cramps. It has deep purple inedible berries. Chickens eat them, getting copious purple diarrhea, staining their behalf nods, hence the phrase. “Wipe off some of that lipstick. Your mouth looks like a chicken’s ass in poke berry season.”

  12. George says:

    Thank you for the suggestion, Van. I’ll have to check it out on an intended busy day..:)

  13. Lisa A. says:

    Thanks for the review, Van! I saw it in Rob’s blog. I started reading it yesterday. So far so good! 😊

  14. Nurse Kelly says:

    Thanks for the recommendation, Van. I just followed her and am looking forward to reading her blog. πŸ™‚

  15. lbeth1950 says:

    Thanks Van. I am so glad I ruined your day. That boy was such a joy to write. We all begged for those stories. Mother always drooped what she was doing, got a faraway look and transported us. I heard them so many times I felt like I remembered.

  16. lbeth1950 says:

    Reblogged this on Nutsrok and commented:
    Reblog gee from Vanbytheriver

  17. Must get it I love her blogs.

  18. olganm says:

    I also love her blogs. Thanks!

  19. Judy Martin says:

    Reblogged this on Edwina's Episodes and commented:
    I have started reading this too and as Van says, Linda has a natural gift for storytelling. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

