Into the Wild

There is a certain spirit that we all share that can be called “wanderlust.” It is why travel blogs are so very popular, the vicarious thrill.

It was exciting to discover the word “Magyar” on the immigration papers of my grandparents. To me, it verified the gypsy blood in our veins. It was a bit disappointing later to realize that the term often referred to the Hungarian language more than the tribe of gypsies. But, still.

I happened upon an Oscar winning song by Eddie Vedder that was part of a biographical movie, Into the Wild.  Based on a book by Jon Krakauer, it tells the cautionary tale of a spirited young man, Christopher McCandless.

Born into wealth and privilege, he gave his money and possessions to charity just after college graduation, and set out on a road trip to the Alaskan wilderness.

It did not end well for him, but the 2007 movie, directed by Sean Penn, is a thing of beauty.

And the song is special.

“Everyone I come across in cages they bought
They think of me and my wandering but I’m never what they thought
Got my indignation but I’m pure in all my thoughts
I’m alive”

This entry was posted in Art, Books, Entertainment, Movies, Music, News, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Into the Wild

  1. Joel F says:

    The music is beautiful.

  2. colinandray says:

    As a child, I spent a short time collecting stamps and still remember Magyar Posta. Assuming that is the Hungarian postal service, then perhaps Magyar simply translates to Hungary, which was probably your grandparents country of origin on the immigration papers?

  3. AmyRose🌹 says:

    The wanderlust in me keeps pushing me to find treasures galore deep in forests and Meadows and streams. I seem to have a restless spirit. And thanks for the tip on this movie. I so adore a good movie to enjoy. Thank you, Van! ❤

  4. Deb says:

    Beautiful music and message.

  5. Sharing REAL feelings among all of us unites us in a calm fashion. Living just a few miles from Charlotte, NC shows an example of REAL feelings creating greater unrest than unification. Communication can be a source of great bonding or great divisiveness.

  6. I saw this movie a few years ago. Part of this movie made me smile and polished something (now shiny on the inside.) And then the reality of life, kinda tarnishes the shine, which the movie conveys perfectly. Everyone (in real life) is in a rat race to have a nice house and pretty car, which only lets the tax man get more of a share of your piece of pie. Modern society clashes in real life with what is right. Ultimately everyone pays the price on one side of the spectrum or the other. Misery loves company, No?

  7. Hearing this lovely music for the first time. You do have some gypsy wandering soul in you Van 🙂

  8. Erika Kind says:

    I saw the movie. It was very insightful but I couldn’t stand the ending.

  9. Gorgeous music…excellent post

  10. Bun Karyudo says:

    I read the book a few years ago on the recommendation of someone else. It was very well written and I enjoyed it, but I wasn’t entirely convinced by the message of someone finding himself, being a martyr to the cause of anti-materialism, and so on. I couldn’t rid myself of the notion that he was just a rather naive young fellow from a middle-class background who didn’t have much idea what he was doing and who should really have sought guidance from people with more experience.

    Incidentally, the music is very good. I love that style of guitar playing. 🙂

  11. I will look out for this movie. Thank you for sharing your heritage and such a beautiful song.

  12. lbeth1950 says:

    I believe they were gypsy. They had to be!

  13. Loved the video. I immediately went to Amazon Music to download this song – unavailable on Amazon Prime, cost me 99 cents. Then I bought another one for 99 cents. Love his singing and his guitar playing. A gypsy indeed!

  14. Nurse Kelly says:

    Thanks for the movie tip and the beautiful song! An interesting choice he made for sure. I think travel really does capture the feeling of being alive. Hope you are having a nice weekend. xo

  15. kingmidget says:

    Chills up and down my spine. Loved the book, love the movie even more. There is something so powerful about the tale. I’ve lived my entire life filled with responsibility and doing what I was supposed to do and I crave so much the idea of what he did. Last year, I started backpacking, at the tender age of 50. Just this weekend, I went on a quick, one night jaunt into the wilderness with some people who are barely acquaintances because I know it’s something I shouldn’t do alone. But there is such an allure of doing it alone.

    And Eddie Vedder’s soundtrack for the movie? Very possibly the best ever in terms of matching the mood and message of the movie with the sound and the lyrics of the songs.

    Thank you for sharing this.

  16. Debby Gies says:

    Nothing like traveling to make us feel alive. The video and music are beautiful. ❤

  17. dgkaye says:

    Grr, sorry still having trouble commenting. I left comment before with FB log in, just trying again with WP 🙂

  18. Sawsan says:

    I loved the movie…

  19. Souldiergirl says:

    Oh I love this movie so much! And even better his songs that he does. He’s incredible. Great choice.

  20. joey says:

    We loved that movie, despite its horrendous ending, and yes, we love the music too.

  21. writerinsoul says:

    The book, the movie, the soundtrack, they all resonate strongly with me. I don’t have that wanderlust thing in me, not like that, so I armchair-travel on others’ ventures. By the way, his sister has written a book and while it fills in some blanks, she is not him.

    • I did a bit of research since this post, and yes, there was so much more to the story. It seems he was escaping a very troubled family, not just satisfying a wanderlust. Sean Penn knew their story, but left it out of the movie, for the most part. Thanks, Colette.

  22. saw the movie, liked it! 🙂 It has a message…

  23. I have not seen the movie, but will watch it. Thanks 🙂

  24. Loved the movie! I’m head over heals in love with the song. Playing on repeat! Thanks for the great post 😀

Leave a Reply

