Chicken. Day #4.

I promised I’d throw it out this morning. I just could not do it.

Something in the genetic code will not allow it. (Thank you, Grandma.)

I can’t waste leftovers. That $5. rotisserie chicken from Sam’s Club is making its 4th appearance at dinner tonight.sams

In line with what could be called “Super Bowl Food”, I used the 4 lb. bird to make BBQ pulled-chicken sliders on Sunday.

We have become fans of those amazing Hawaiian sweet rolls, and I keep finding ways to use them.

Simmered in the BBQ sauce from a recipe in a previous post, the sliders were a big hit, and we ate them for 3 days. No complaints.

On Day 1, I realized there was just too much meat for the amount of sauce, so I set aside an entire breast portion to use in another form, freeze for later, or discard by today.

Early this morning, I went to the frig, and hesitated.

There was this copycat Alfredo sauce recipe I’d seen a while back…using heavy cream, butter, garlic, parmesan, etc., all ingredients which I had on hand.

So I took that half chicken breast piece, discarded the skin, diced it and proceeded to make the sauce. I modified the recipe as I went along, adding fresh mushrooms, sweet onion, red pepper flakes, wine.

I boiled some pasta, buttered a casserole dish. Topped it all with bread crumbs, melted butter, more parsley, and it went into the oven.

Half an hour later, I sampled. It might be one of the best tasting things I ever assembled.

It’s what’s for dinner.

And nobody will mind the 4th day of chicken.

*****************************************************************************

Basic Alfredo Sauce: Melt 1/4 cup butter, blend in 8 oz. heavy cream, 3/4 cup fresh parmesan cheese. Add minced garlic clove, fresh chopped parsley.

 

This entry was posted in Art, Books, Education, Entertainment, Family, Food, News, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to Chicken. Day #4.

  1. Sounds creative and delicious! πŸ™‚

  2. That sounds a delicious recipe to make a different meal from chicken… You are a woman after my own heart. waste not want not.. πŸ™‚

  3. Can you freeze it? Give it to your neighbor? or a friend? or a man on the street?

  4. prior.. says:

    mm – with a sauce like that – nobody would mind for sure.

  5. J.D. Riso says:

    Nothing wrong with not wasting food. Chicken is so versatile anyway.

  6. Rachel Ray has a show that she takes a chicken, for ex., and makes a different meal with it for 5 days. What you’re doing is on that same level. πŸ™‚

  7. Yup. Me too. Can’t throw away food. You sound like a better cook than I am, Van. Chicken sliders and chicken alfredo both work for me!

  8. Likewise, we don’t waste food. Sadly no 49p chickens recently, and the last cheep (sorry, couldn’t resist) one cost us Β£2, but I did get three meals out of it for the two of us, and Maggie had some too. I always discard the skin. Like the sound of your sauce…… syn city and back with butter and cream, but yummy vy the sound of it.

  9. yumm and so creative Van!

  10. [drool]
    I take after my mom, who was a carbon copy of your grandma. I often cook by the seat of my pants, and every now and then, I hit a home run. Then hubby turns to me and says, “This was great. Can we have it again?” and I’ll have to say, “Maybe. I didn’t follow a recipe.”

    • I get it. I may start with a recipe, but by the time I’m done, it’s all my own. Hard to repeat though…I guess I just pay attention to the process, not the details. (the reason my chili never tastes the same way twice).

  11. Val Boyko says:

    I used to be a great leftover person. I think being Scottish and having a “waste not, want not” mentality has something to do with it. Then I took my yoga teacher training and found out that leftovers were classified as “tamasic”
    taΒ·masΒ·ic
    (in Ayurveda) denoting a class of foods that are dry, old, foul, or unpalatable, and are thought to promote pessimism, ignorance, laziness, criminal tendencies, and doubt.
    Oh dear πŸ˜–πŸ˜«
    I don’t enjoy them nearly as much as I used to, that’s for sure. xo

    • Oh, no…being frugal could promote pessimism and more ??? That makes me a bit sad, Val. I understand why you don’t enjoy them now. But, my aim is to make them palatable..so far, (mostly) so good.

  12. Erika Kind says:

    Wow, amazing! You truly know how to make leftovers a special dish… time and time again… lol!

  13. Lady G says:

    Now that’s what I’m taking about. Saving money and being creative with food. YAAASSSSS!

  14. TanGental says:

    my mum would call that an ‘ifit’ as in ‘if it works then fine’. Sounds delicious…

  15. Wasting food is not a good habit at all. And, I like chicken in all its forms…:-D

  16. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    Well all have days and dinners like that at times!

  17. I transform my left over chicken by making omlets. They are quick and easy and usually it finishes off the chicken.

  18. lbeth1950 says:

    I refuse to waste good food. I don’t cook chicken and eggs together either. Seems like incest or some kind of taboo

  19. I can’t stand wasting food either and with only two of us I tend to cook enought for a couple of days or longer.. When we first got married and were totally broke I would make a beef and vegetable stew on Monday with carrots, parsnips, swede, onions, etc and about half a pound of stewing steak.. by Tuesday that was gone and we had vegetable stew an mashed potato until Friday when we went to the pub and had a half pint of beer and fish and chips. Anyway I am going to throw this into the Blogger Daily and ask people to head over here with their best left over story. x

  20. joey says:

    Sounds delicious!

  21. Adds VALUE to the chicken’s life by consuming the whole bird! He or she wasn’t slaughtered in vain. πŸ™‚
    …or you can go with that “cheap” explanation…

  22. Joel says:

    Probably very tasty. I am also experimenting with meat if it remains. Always get new dishes. I’ll try your recipe

  23. Ipuna Black says:

    Good job on being creative and not wasting. πŸ˜€
    I know you are busy! If you have time, I nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award. This is all new to me, so play if you have time. πŸ˜‰β€‹
    http://wp.me/p4oQp5-E3

  24. Awesome ideas, Van. I have the same problem with my genetic code. πŸ˜€ Enjoy that delicious sounding meal. Mega hugs.

  25. George says:

    Pasta and melted butter makes everything taste batter😊

  26. Loved this πŸ™‚ Both my dad and I are the type who can eat the same stuff four times a week, but his girlfriend definitely couldn’t… so we started to plan dinner depending on whether or not she was coming over… now they’re living together, and dinner is quite a bit more variable πŸ˜‰

    • I have a friend whose husband grew up with so many leftovers, he refused to eat them as an adult. She would keep a calendar and never repeat a meal within the same month. Pretty extreme, but it works for them…variety as a mandate.

  27. I always feel guilty throwing away food so I try to toss leftover stuff together and make something out of it. I used to grab those Sam’s club grilled chickens and their pizza sometimes for a lazy evening meal πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

