February Potato Salad

She brought the dish to every luncheon, picnic, potluck dinner. Gail’s potato salad was a huge hit, and made its way into the Welcome Wagon cookbook. Her secret was bacon.

Is there really anything that is not made better by bacon ?

8-bacon_egg_potato_salad

Eileensbakeryandcafe.com

The full bowl of new red potatoes with creamy dill dressing was always topped by crumbled bacon.

But that was not the secret. While the potatoes were still warm, she added a few tablespoons of the reserved bacon grease. It made all the difference.

I’ve made it her way for many years since then, with pretty positive results.

There is no real recipe, it tastes a bit different each time, but the technique is constant.

When the forecast here was for several days of sun and springtime temperatures, I set out for the new red potatoes.

It is one of the many times that I have built a meal around a side dish.

It didn’t matter if we were to have BBQ, simple sandwiches or fried chicken, I was determined to find a main course to complement that potato salad.

It’s not just for holidays, picnics and parties.

It’s a dish that deserves to show up on ordinary days.

Thanks, Gail.

This entry was posted in Books, Entertainment, Family, Food, News, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to February Potato Salad

  1. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    Yum! Glad I just ate before reading this post!

  2. Sawsan says:

    I love potato salad and when I’m craving it I, too, plan around it.
    I don’t eat regular bacon. Love duck bacon though.

    I was just starting to make dinner plans. Thank you πŸ˜‰

  3. I could eat my laptop Van. This looks delish! My coleslaw was always popular and I’d take a huge cake box full of it to parties and never brought any back. Hubby’s not a fan of potato salad, but he likes bacon! I may well try this and use a low calorie dressing to go with a jacket spud and extra greens. Thanks!

  4. Erika Kind says:

    Oh, this looks amazing, Van and sounds delicious. Would you mind to try creating a recipe? I know my sons would love it!

    • Okay then. Boil about 2 lbs. new red potatoes, unpeeled, till fork-tender, 10-15 minutes. Cool slightly, cut into bite-size pieces in large bowl. Add 1/4 cup each of chopped onion and celery, and 1/2 of a raw carrot, grated. Fry 2-3 slices bacon, reserving 2 TBS. drippings to pour over all vegetables. Add spices to taste- salt, pepper, dill weed, parsley. Add 1 TBS. apple cider vinegar, 1 tsp. yellow or dijon mustard. Then smother all this with mayo (takes 2 cups or more) until all is creamy. Option: Fold in 1-2 chopped hard cooked eggs. Place in serving dish, top with chopped, cooked bacon. Chill. * A bit labor-intensive, but worth it.

  5. J.D. Riso says:

    Love potato salad, but no bacon for me. Maybe I can try with vegetarian bacon…

  6. Now I’m having a craving for potato salad. Yum. Thanks for the tip, Van. πŸ˜€

  7. This looks so good Van!!

  8. George says:

    Everything tastes better with bacon and this looks delicious…:)

  9. prior.. says:

    van…. you really wordsmithed this post in such a way to where I need to try this – but I feel the warmth of the legacy this savory dish must be to you and yours….
    mmmmm

  10. Here I go again mouth watering reading a post about food and hungry. Oh this looks so good. Tummy rumble. LOL

  11. I have always loved potato salad. I must try your recipe.😊

  12. polymath0 says:

    I’m salivating. You really can’t make a recipe? Potato salad is a beautiful thing when done well and a sorry disappointment when done poorly. I followed a recipe in a health book once, and it was such a disappointment that I vowed to never make it again unless I was pretty certain of the outcome. I feel like I could be certain of the photo you shared.

  13. Lady G says:

    Ooooooh that looks good πŸ™‚

  14. Aah… I’m almost drooling…!

  15. Tina Frisco says:

    I should have eaten before reading this post, because I keep hoping the photo will jump off the page and land on my desk! It looks so scrumptious. Gail sounds like my Sicilian grandmother ~ no real recipe; just a pinch of this and 2 pinches of that πŸ™‚

  16. amommasview says:

    I love potato salad! I will for sure try making it the way you just described. I got hungry reading! And I do crave a potato salad right now… You just gave me an idea what to serve alongside the lamb my husband just brought home!

  17. My, my, this looks like a finger licking delicious dish. I would love the full recipe to try out πŸ™‚

  18. T. Wayne says:

    A thousand days later, in answer to your bacon question, the answer is no.

    There was more after that…I may have been distracted by the word bacon. πŸ˜€ Seriously, now I’m hungry for potato salad. With or without bacon.

  19. Wow! That looks really good! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

