The Limo

When someone you love is in trouble, you are logically drawn to a former place of loss and grief. It is such a welcome surprise to have positive memories spring up out of nowhere.

That happened to me early this morning.

I remembered the limo.airport limo

The two years that we watched my mother die of cancer were stressful for the entire extended family.

My husband and I had postponed our real estate search, but found our Michigan home about a month after the funeral.

It was a modest split level home that was adjacent to a golf course, set in the woods and featured an in ground swimming pool. My grieving family, with three teen siblings still at home, were looking for a getaway that summer, and we were happy to host them for a week- long visit.

My job at the time involved a lot of air travel, and I often made use of a corporate limo service to get to the Detroit airport, some 90 miles from our home. It was convenient, inexpensive and familiar, and I opted to send one to the airport to pick up my dad and siblings when they arrived.

The service sent the stretch limo that day, and it was quite the treat; a first for the teens, who sat in the back playing with all the features while Dad rode in the front seat (of course) to engage the driver in conversation.

It was a moment of luxury and a bit of joy that I was happy to provide for a hurting family. They talked about it for many years to come.

They may have had occasion to ride in another limo at some point, but the first ride is always special.

The thought of it still makes me smile.

This entry was posted in Family, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to The Limo

  1. Erika Kind says:

    That sounds really like a very lovely and comforting treat.

  2. Amy says:

    What a wonderful memory.

  3. AmyRose🌹 says:

    Heart touching, Van. I understand that pain. And I understand the “gift” you gave to your family. (((HUGS))) Amy ❤

    • Hugs back to you, Amy, I understand how fresh those sentiments still are for you. ❤️

      • AmyRose🌹 says:

        Bless you, Van. Some days are more difficult then others. Recently when my work was recognized by Leanne Cole, I burst into tears just wishing my Dad was still alive. He SO encouraged me with my art and he was just so proud of me that I was doing what I am with my Gifts. Thank you for listening, my friend. (((HUGS))) Amy ❤

      • She, like you, is an amazing photographer. Congrats and keep moving forward. Hugs. ❤️

      • AmyRose🌹 says:

        Oh, Van, to even put me in the same sentence as Leanne just about knocks the wind out of me. I have looked up to her for so many years and I have learned so much from her. I will keep moving forward. I honestly don’t know where, but Dream I shall. I do every night before I sleep. I settle in my bed, pick up an inspirational book, and begin to focus my mind on my Dreams. God has given me such precious talents and just to be able to do what I am today is a huge Blessing in my Life. May you BE Blessed for being so kind to me, my friend! ❤

      • You do indeed have those gifts. I’m happy to witness your blessings at work, Amy. ☺

  4. Nurse Kelly says:

    So heartwarming! Thanks for sharing this. xo

  5. That was a lovely thing to do, and a lasting memory for your loved ones 🙂

  6. It’s good to be able to find a little happiness in the midst of grief. Sounds like that stretch limo was just the right touch.

  7. You’re awesome – what a lovely gift to your family Van. ❤
    Diana xo

  8. amommasview says:

    How beautiful to bring some smiles on their faces by organizing a treat like that 🙂 Good on you!

  9. lbeth1950 says:

    It must have meant so much to have had that time together. How thoughtful of you. You are a good person.

  10. It’s thoughts and treats like this that always tend to be the ones that help during sad times. I can remember my fist ride in a limo and how I talked about it for weeks afterwards because it was a brand new experience to me and was a treat in that we’d travelled in it rather than a Yellow Cab from JFK. Sometimes, what we do have no bearing on what we originally set out to do.

  11. What a thoughtful thing to do, Van. A tiny little crack in the sadness and a small reminder that the world is still a place of joy and adventure. Lovely.

  12. markbialczak says:

    You did it up right for them, Van. That’s very special.

Leave a Reply

